SJSU Research Guides: Recreation Therapy: Scholarly Articles

Recreation Therapy Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Searches MEDLINE, the leading database of journal articles in the health sciences, including medicine, nursing, the allied health sciences, public health, and the basic sciences. Coverage is 1946 - present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from approximately 2,050 periodicals in more than 25 languages. PsycINFO is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus covers sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, doping, drugs, biomechanics, movement science, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, recreation, leisure studies, and related fields.

***For a more complete search use "Choose Databases" and add Academic Search Complete, OmniFile Full Text, AgeLine, Alt Healthwatch, CINAHL Plus, ERIC, PsycARTICLES.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature search engine. Set your library preferences: On the Google Scholar homepage, go to Scholar Preferences. At Library Links, locate San Jose State University. Add those links, then save the preferences.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes the literature of nursing, occupational therapy and other health professions. Virtually all English-language publications are indexed along with the publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. Primary journals are indexed from the allied health fields.

*** For a more complete search use "Choose Databases" to add: Academic Search Complete, Alt Healthwatch, AgeLine, ERIC, and PsychINFO
Scopus This link opens in a new window
This abstract and citation database covers thousands of scholarly journals, books, and conference proceedings. Covering a broad range of disciplines, Scopus enables one to track, analyze, and visualize research. Output data at the institutional and author levels are available. Authors will find h-index, Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP), and citation counts helpful in demonstrating the impact of their work.
ERIC via Ebsco This link opens in a new window
ERIC contains over 1,000 education-related journals that publish works on childhood disabilities, play therapy and other topics related to recreational therapy for youth.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts a broad array of basic social sciences journals, including interdisciplinary fields. Full text coverage begins in January 1995.
Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
This online video collection, ideal for training in social work, psychology, multi-cultural studies, and other areas, includes hundreds of hours of streaming videos. The sessions are hosted and edited by leading psychologists, psychiatrists, social workers, and academics in the U.S., Canada, and the U.K. Demonstrations, training videos, actual therapy sessions with real clients, reenacted sessions, lectures, discussions, and workshops give students and instructors exciting new learning tools. The streaming videos are accompanied by transcripts that are automatically in sync with the video. The text that is spoken is highlighted in real-time as the video is playing.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and ebooks in science, technology and medicine (STM), arts, humanities and social sciences. Click on "Journals and Books" link on the website to filter by subscribed, open access and complimentary access to know what is available to you. Note: You may see a screen from Elsevier asking: “Are you a Human”. It's okay to click on the box. It's a verification process to prevent automated traffic (BOTS) from abusing excessive downloads of PDFs.

Rec Therapy

Government Educational Resources

Able Data
Resources include a database of more than 40,000 products. A database of citations of books, articles, and other resources related to assistive technology also is available, along with fact sheets, brochures, and online publications.
more...less...
AbleData is sponsored by the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research. The AbleData project helps people who have disabilities, including communication disorders, by providing information about assistive devices, rehabilitation equipment, and other products for people with disabilities.

Medline Plus This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus is a goldmine of good health information from the world's largest medical library, the National Library of Medicine. Health professionals and consumers alike can depend on it for information that is authoritative and up to date. MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 650 diseases and conditions. MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.

National Institute of Child Health and Human Development
This website has information on A-Z health and human development topics, such as, ADHD, fragile X syndrome, and Sexually Transmitted Diseases (STDs).
more...less...
The NICHD was initially established to investigate the broad aspects of human development as a means of understanding developmental disabilities, including intellectual and developmental disabilities, and the events that occur during pregnancy. Today, the Institute conducts and supports research on all stages of human development, from preconception to adulthood, to better understand the health of children, adults, families, and communities.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
The CDC provides users with credible, reliable health information and covers topics such as Disease and Conditions, Healthy Living, Emergency Preparedness & Response, Injury, Violence & Safety, Environmental Health, Workplace Safety, Data, Statistics, and so much more. Here you can also learn about Campaigns and Programs and Current Outbreaks.
Healthy Living from the CDC
This page is a staying healthy index that covers topics from Aging to vaccines and immunizations. Each topic provides, information about the topic, data and statistics, health disparities, and resources.
more...less...
CDC.gov is CDC's primary online communication channel. Annually, there are close to 500 million page views to the site, averaging 41 million page views per month. CDC.gov provides users with credible, reliable health information.
National Institute of Health (NIH)
The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services External Web Site Policy , is the nation’s medical research agency—making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.
more...less...
NIH is the largest source of funding for medical research in the world, creating hundreds of thousands of high-quality jobs by funding thousands of scientists in universities and research institutions in every state across America and around the globe.

Recreation & Leisure

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus covers sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, doping, drugs, biomechanics, movement science, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, recreation, leisure studies, and related fields.

***For a more complete search use "Choose Databases" and add Academic Search Complete, OmniFile Full Text, AgeLine, Alt Healthwatch, CINAHL Plus, ERIC, PsycARTICLES.

Recreation Therapy

Adriana Poo

Librarian Help

Recreation Therapy Databases

Rec Therapy

Government Educational Resources

Recreation & Leisure