SJSU Research Guides: Recreation : Maps, Stats and Encyclopedias

Maps and Atlases

American Memory Map Collections
The Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress holds more than 4.5 million items, of which these Map Collections represents only a small fraction, those that have been converted to digital form.
David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
The David Rumsey Collection focuses primarily on cartography of the Americas from the 18th and 19th centuries, but also has maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. The collection includes atlases, globes, school geographies, books, maritime charts, and a variety of separate maps, including pocket, wall, children's and manuscript.
MapMaker Interactive
From National Geographic, MapMaker Interactive is an online mapping tool that you to explore the world using map themes, data, and tools
U.S. Census Bureau Maps and Cartographic Resources
Census Bureau maps show how the population of the U.S. is located with respect to factors such as ethnic background, geographic area, political boundaries, and other special purpose groupings. Maps are organized into two categories: Reference Maps and Thematic Maps. Select the description link located beneath each map title to access more information about each map.
Map Collections of the King Library
A research guide created by San Jose State University librarians with information on maps available at the Dr. Martin L. King, Jr. Library as well as links to online map sources.

Data.Census.Gov
An online source for population, housing, economic and geographic data from the United States Census Bureau.
California State Agencies
An alphabetical list of all the California State agencies, including those related to food safety, hospitality, forest and game, tourism, etc.
USA.gov
Search through US government websites including travel and tourism, health and nutrition, public service. Use Explore Topics to get ideas.

USA Search
Gateway to international information collected by the CIA, Travel Bureau, and more. You will need to create an account before using this resource.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
more...less...
Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
United Nations
Official site of the United Nations.
US Census International Database
Contains a variety of demographic indicators for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more.

Encyclopaedia Britannica (SJSU Students and Faculty Only)
Full text of the 32-volume Encyclopædia Britannica; additional articles and images not available in the print set); Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary & Thesaurus; over 130,000 links to web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.

Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
This database combines the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries). This database combines the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries). It covers over 500,000 people and includes over 36,000 images. For more details about the source information for this database, please go to thefollowing site: http://www.hwwilson.com/Databases/biobank.htm Coverage dates: Ancient times to present.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Reference Online Premium contains about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University press. It also contains a range of key titles from the acclaimed oxford Companion Series, plus the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations.

World Book Online Reference Center
The World Book Online Reference Center (now called World Book Student), includes the articles of the World Book Encyclopedia, a Biography Center, dictionary, atlas, an extensive multimedia collection, thousands of editor-selected Web sites, correlations to curriculum standards, and much more.