SJSU Research Guides: Recreation : Scholarly Articles

Recreation & Leisure

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus covers sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, doping, drugs, biomechanics, movement science, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, recreation, leisure studies, and related fields.

***For a more complete search use "Choose Databases" and add Academic Search Complete, OmniFile Full Text, AgeLine, Alt Healthwatch, CINAHL Plus, ERIC, PsycARTICLES.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature search engine. Set your library preferences: On the Google Scholar homepage, go to Scholar Preferences. At Library Links, locate San Jose State University. Add those links, then save the preferences.
Web of Science (and ESI & JCR) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines. Included in the subscription: Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators (ESI). Use the ESI Help Guide and JCR Help Guide to learn more. Also included is the Grants Index which is found under the Web of Science core collection drop down menu.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
This abstract and citation database covers thousands of scholarly journals, books, and conference proceedings. Covering a broad range of disciplines, Scopus enables one to track, analyze, and visualize research. Output data at the institutional and author levels are available. Authors will find h-index, Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP), and citation counts helpful in demonstrating the impact of their work.

Hospitality & Tourism

Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
Hospitality & Tourism Complete™ covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 828,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 490 publications.

*** For a more complete search use "Choose Databases" to add Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, OmniFile Full Text
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition This link opens in a new window
Selected titles in Hospitality & Tourism are included in this database.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
General news and company, industry, and other business information (mostly full-text) from newspapers, newswires, magazines, trade journals in 22 languages from 118 countries.

Sustainable Recreation and Ecotourism

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and ebooks in science, technology and medicine (STM), arts, humanities and social sciences. Click on "Journals and Books" link on the website to filter by subscribed, open access and complimentary access to know what is available to you. Note: You may see a screen from Elsevier asking: “Are you a Human”. It's okay to click on the box. It's a verification process to prevent automated traffic (BOTS) from abusing excessive downloads of PDFs.
Web of Science (and ESI & JCR) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines. Included in the subscription: Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators (ESI). Use the ESI Help Guide and JCR Help Guide to learn more. Also included is the Grants Index which is found under the Web of Science core collection drop down menu.
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. It draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full text, peer reviewed academic journals that support scholarly research in key areas of academic study.
academic search premier

Recreation

Recreation

Legal information

Recreation Therapy

Recreation & Leisure

Hospitality & Tourism

Sustainable Recreation and Ecotourism