SJSU Research Guides: BUS5 140: Fundamentals of Operations Management: Find Articles

Commonly Used Business Databases to Find Journal Articles

ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
The ABI/INFORM Collection is comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Also provides valuable historical perspective, with journals and other material dating back to the early 1900s.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This database contains monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, detailed author profiles and more. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Developed for Business Schools and Management Departments, Emerald Insight is a collection of peer-reviewed management journals -- 100+ full text journals or 75,000+ full text management articles and reviews from the top 300 management journals.
Gale Business Insights This link opens in a new window
Thousands of global company, country and business topic overviews featuring detailed information as well as interactive rankings and statistics, with quick links to associated content. Global Histories, SWOT Reports, Thomson Reuters Company Financials and Investment Reports, Market Share Reports, and Industry Research Essays. Full-text articles from academic journals, business periodicals, newswires and other media outlets,,200 business executive video interviews and lessons for deeper insight into issues and decision-making.
Thousands of interactive LiveCharts for economic and business indicators that let researchers generate their own analyses and custom charts for reports and presentations.
Gale OneFile Business This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management, and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily. Complementing these titles is a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications,
Gale OneFile Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new window
Ideal for business schools and entrepreneurs, Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship is updated daily and provides insights, tips, strategies, and success stories as well as subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Good coverage on technology-related business and applied science journals.

If you have a favorite journal, magazine, or newspaper and would like to know if it is available online through the library, go to the Journal Index to find out. You can search by title or subject.

News and Trade Resources

U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
It includes full-text of major newspapers such as Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Financial Times, etc.
NewsBank California Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection featuring California news sources including newspapers, university and college newspapers, web only content, blogs, newswires, and America's News magazines. The collection includes San Jose Mercury News.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Business news from local English-language business journals, newspapers and newswires covering many metropolitan and rural areas within the United States and Canada.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
General news and company, industry, and other business information (mostly full-text) from newspapers, newswires, magazines, trade journals in 22 languages from 118 countries. Also includes color photos from Reuters and Knight-Ridder publications, company reports, SEC filings, web contents, and transcripts from BBC, ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox, CNN, NPR and more.

Other Useful Business or Multi-Discipline Databases

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and ebooks in science, technology and medicine (STM), arts, humanities and social sciences. Click on "Journals and Books" link on the website to filter by subscribed, open access and complimentary access to know what is available to you. Note: You may see a screen from Elsevier asking: “Are you a Human”. It's okay to click on the box. It's a verification process to prevent automated traffic (BOTS) from abusing excessive downloads of PDFs.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA) contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines, dating from the 1800s. PsycINFO is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
psy psych psycho psychinfo psych info psyc
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
A collection of psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other instruments essential to the research needs of professionals, students, and educators across the behavioral and social sciences. PsycTESTS indexes a wide variety of test types and instruments— including aptitude tests, personality scales, and cognitive functioning measures.
psy psych psycho psychinfo psych info psyc