Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BUS5 140: Fundamentals of Operations Management

Resources to help your research

Possible search terms to consider and useful databases

Researching a company's operations is a lot like throwing darts at a dartboard: it's going to take some trial and error before you hit the bullseye.

Try some of these search terms combined with your company name:

“aggregate planning”
“capacity planning”
“design - industrial”
“distribution planning”
“facility layout"
“facility location"
forecasting
“industrial management”
“inventory management"
logistics
“manufacturing processes”
“new products”
“operations management”
“process capacity"
“process design"
“process flows"
“process layout"
“process performance"
“product design”
“production control"
“production design”
“production planning"
“quality control"
“queuing models"
scheduling
“supply chain"
“value chain"
 

Do use the quotation marks. This will tell the database that you are searching for a phrase, not two separate words wherever they appear.

If these don't work for you, try synonyms or brainstorm other phrases that, combined with your company name, might get you the information you need.

 

These are the best databases to start with. If you don't find what you need, email me at diana.wu@sjsu.edu and I can suggest some other possibilities.

These are the best databases to start with. If you don't find what you need, email me at diana.wu@sjsu.edu and I can suggest some other possibilities.

  • PrivCo - for private company information ( a SJPL database, login with your San Jose Library Card)

Get business and financial data on non-publicly traded companies. Includes information about VC funding, private equity deals, private mergers and acquisitions, and private market investors.

  • Reference USA  ( a SJPL database, login with your SJLibrary Card)

Access detailed directory information on millions of U.S. and Canadian businesses, including address, sales, headquarter and subsidiary information, and SIC and NAICS numbers. Find job listings, access company information and apply for jobs all in one place. Can modify search results for business owned by ethnicity, gender and by geographic radius.

A good source to search for startups by angel funding, geographic location and type of business, job openings.