Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Computer Science and Computer & Software Engineering

This guide will help you in your research for computer engineering.

Types of Articles

In Engineering trade journals/magazines are as important as scholarly articles. However, trade journals are not peer-reviewed, only scholarly journals are. The information in a peer-reviewed article is thorough and reliable but it takes a long time to get published. Trade journals provide brief information on discoveries, inventions, and updates.

 

Scholarly Journal

Journal of Biotechnology

Biosensors Journal

Trade Journal/ Magazine

Industry Week

IEEE Spectrum

News

Scientific American

New York Times

Conference Proceedings

Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences

 

Purpose

To inform and report on original research or experimentation

To provide news and updates to people in a particular industry or profession

To provide general information to a lay audience

To document new concepts and techniques, work in progress presented at a conference

Peer-reviewed?
Some journals are
Never
Never
Some article proposals are
Cited Sources
Has substantial bibliographies
Occasionally include brief bibliographies
Rarely include bibliographies
Has substantial bibliographies
Authors
Scholars or researchers in the field, specialty
Practitioners and educators within the industry or profession
News reporters or free-lance writers
Scholars or researchers in the field, specialty

Article Appearance

Articles are lengthy and structured into sections: abstracts, lit. review, method, architecture, results, conclusions, bibliography

Contains graphs, charts, photographs supporting the research

Photographs and illustrations used to support the article but also for aesthetic purposes to draw in readers

Articles are usually brief and do not follow a certain format

Photographs and illustrations used to support the article but also for aesthetic purposes to draw in readers

Articles are usually brief and do not follow a certain format

Articles are lengthy and structured into sections: abstracts, lit. review, method, architecture, results, conclusions, bibliography

Contains graphs, charts, photographs supporting the research

Adapted from Meriam Library, California State University, Chico

Review Papers Research Articles
research article is a primary source...that is, it reports the methods and results of an original study performed by the authors. The kind of study may vary (it could have been an experiment, survey, interview, etc.), but in all cases, raw data have been collected and analyzed by the authors, and conclusions drawn from the results of that analysis.                                                                                                                                                                                                                          review article is a secondary source...it is written about other articles, and does not report original research of its own.  Review articles are very important, as they draw upon the articles that they review to suggest new research directions, to strengthen support for existing theories and/or identify patterns among existing research studies.  For student researchers, review articles provide a great overview of the existing literature on a topic.   If you find a literature review that fits your topic, take a look at its references/works cited list for leads on other relevant articles and books!

Adapted from: LSU Libraries

Characteristics of Peer-reviewed Articles

  • Not all scholarly articles are peer-reviewed
  • Refereed is just another word for peer-reviewed
  • Peer-reviewed articles are reviewed and evaluated by experts in the field before they are accepted for publication
  • Articles that are peer-reviewed are published in a peer-reviewed journal

How to identify a peer-reviewed article

In order to verify whether an article is peer-reviewed, you need to check whether the journal in which the article is published is peer-reviewed. There are two ways figure out whether a journal is peer-reviewed: 

1. Long Way — Search for the journal title on Google; go to the journal's website and search (Ctrl + F on Windows; Cmd + F on Mac) for the words peer review. Look on the website for information about the editorial policy, submission process or requirements for author’s submission. This section of the website will often give insight into whether or not the journal has a peer-review process. 

2. Preferred Way — Go to Ulrich's Periodicals Directory and search for the journal title.

Steps to find journal titles in Ulrich's Periodicals Directory

1. Go to library.sjsu.edu

2. Click on Articles and Databases under Quick Links.

3. Search for 'Ulrich's periodicals'

4. Click on Ulrich's Periodicals Directory

5. Search for the journal title on Ulrich NOT the article title

6. Click on the journal title link

7. You should be looking for the word "Refereed" (another synonym for Peer-reviewed). If it says "Yes" to Refereed, it is peer-reviewed.