SJSU Research Guides: Packaging: Articles by Topic

Recommended Databases for Packaging Students

Have a topic and need to do some research?

Below are the top databases for packaging students.

Need help accessing these resources? Get technical assistance from Student Computing Services

Web of Science (and ESI & JCR) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines. Included in the subscription: Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators (ESI). Use the ESI Help Guide and JCR Help Guide to learn more. Also included is the Grants Index which is found under the Web of Science core collection drop down menu.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Offers access to engineering research literature and patent databases including Compendex and Inspec. Also includes GeoRef and GEOBASE databases.
Food Science Source This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text coverage for 1,300+ publications, all dealing with food industry-related issues, such as packaging, processing, product development, safety, etc. More than 1,000 key food industry and market reports are also included.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
1300+ full-text journals available to support nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This resource also provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheet and quick lesson disease overviews, and continuing education modules.
cinhal
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Searches MEDLINE, the leading database of journal articles in the health sciences, including medicine, nursing, the allied health sciences, public health, and the basic sciences. Coverage is 1946 - present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full text, peer reviewed academic journals that support scholarly research in key areas of academic study.
academic search premier

Food Science & Technology Databases

Agricola This link opens in a new window
U.S. Department of Agriculture catalog. Indexes agriculture and allied disciplines, including food & nutrition, entomology, plant sciences, aquaculture, agricultural economics, earth and environmental sciences.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Offers access to engineering research literature and patent databases including Compendex and Inspec. Also includes GeoRef and GEOBASE databases.
Materials Business File This link opens in a new window
Industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries since 1985. Citations for this database are pulled from 2,000 journals, plus patents, dissertations, government reports, conference proceedings, and books. Database equivalent of the bulletins Steels Alert, Polymers/Ceramics/Composites Alert and Nonferrous Metals Alert.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and ebooks in science, technology and medicine (STM), arts, humanities and social sciences. Click on "Journals and Books" link on the website to filter by subscribed, open access and complimentary access to know what is available to you. Note: You may see a screen from Elsevier asking: “Are you a Human”. It's okay to click on the box. It's a verification process to prevent automated traffic (BOTS) from abusing excessive downloads of PDFs.

Business Databases

Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Access to product evaluations, interviews, full text articles, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, conferences and more.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This database contains monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, detailed author profiles and more. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included.
Hoovers Company Profiles This link opens in a new window
In-depth company profiles including operations, officers, strategies, competitors, histories, locations, products & brand names, and financial information Also known as Business Market Research Collection.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
U.S. company data covering approximately 10,000 public companies and their SEC filings. Includes: U.S. Annual Reports: Easy-to-access current and historical annual reports; International company data. Online version of: Mergent industrial manual, Mergent international manual, Mergent bank & finance manual, Mergent OTC industrial manual, Mergent OTC unlisted manual, and Mergent public utility & transportation manual.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Business news from local English-language business journals, newspapers and newswires covering many metropolitan and rural areas within the United States and Canada.

Print Indexes

Food science and technology abstracts.
Basic index for food science and technology -- information on processing techniques, processed foods, additives, etc.
REF TP368 .F68 - KING REFERENCE 2ND FLOOR

Nutrition abstracts and reviews. Series A: Human and experimental.
Index for nutrition; international journal literature, conference publications, reports, selected government publications, and books (library has 1931-1997).
REF QP141.A1 N86 - KING REFERENCE 2ND FLOOR

Off Campus Access

To access SJSU databases from off campus, input your SJSU Tower ID and password.