SJSU Research Guides: Journalism & Mass Communications: Advertising and Public Relations Articles

Peer-reviewed journals

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This business database provides bibliographic and full text content, as well as indexing and abstracting for scholarly business journals. This scholarly business database provides bibliographic and full text content. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included.
ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
The ABI/INFORM Collection is comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Also provides valuable historical perspective, with journals and other material dating back to the early 1900s.
Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Access to product evaluations, interviews, full text articles, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, conferences and more.
Gale OneFile Business This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management, and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily. Complementing these titles is a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications,
Gale Business Insights This link opens in a new window
Thousands of global company, country and business topic overviews featuring detailed information as well as interactive rankings and statistics, with quick links to associated content. Global Histories, SWOT Reports, Thomson Reuters Company Financials and Investment Reports, Market Share Reports, and Industry Research Essays. Full-text articles from academic journals, business periodicals, newswires and other media outlets, 200 business executive video interviews and lessons for deeper insight into issues and decision-making. Thousands of interactive LiveCharts for economic and business indicators that let researchers generate their own analyses and custom charts for reports and presentations.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Communication Source was developed from a merger of high-quality EBSCO databases, Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts (formerly published by Sage), and includes many unique sources not previously available in other databases. Offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
Gale OneFile Communications and Mass Media This link opens in a new window
Covers the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature. Includes academic journals, videos, magazines and images.

Other useful advertising and PR databases

Factiva This link opens in a new window
General news and company, industry, and other business information (mostly full-text) from newspapers, newswires, magazines, trade journals in 22 languages from 118 countries.
Simmons Insights This link opens in a new window
Simmons OneView (formerly Simmons Choices3) provides access to U.S. adult consumer data on product and brand usage, spending behavior, media habits, and more. Data is gathered and compiled by the Simmons Market Research Bureau to provide information about American consumers by gender, age, and household income. Approximately 30,000 adults and children over 6 years of age participate.

The survey gathers data on almost 8000 brands in 465 product categories. It covers the following areas: technology, personal finance, diet and health, media, political outlook, self-concepts, shopping behavior, interests, and attitudes toward such topics as money, free time, recycling, work, and food.

Library Passwords
A handful of King Library databases require passwords. Sign in with your name, employee ID, and PIN to see the list.