SJSU Research Guides: Journalism & Mass Communications: Journalism and Mass Comm. Articles

Newspapers & newswires (local and state)

San Jose Mercury News (current)
The San Jose Mercury News is California's oldest continually published newspaper. The Mercury News covers the southern San Francisco Bay area of Northern California, including Santa Clara County, San Mateo County, San Francisco County, Alameda County, Santa Cruz County, and other neighboring areas. The Mercury News provides local, national and international news coverage with particular emphasis on business coverage of the technology industries of Silicon Valley.

NewsBank California Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection featuring California news sources including newspapers, university and college newspapers, web only content, blogs, newswires, and America's News magazines. The collection includes San Jose Mercury News.
Coverage begins in 1985.
Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
The Los Angeles Times (also known as the LA Times) is a daily newspaper published in Los Angeles, California and distributed throughout the Western United States.
Spartan Daily This link opens in a new window
Full text of SJSU student newspaper; covers campus events and some national & international news.
Metro: Silicon Valley's Weekly Newspaper This link opens in a new window
Alternative news weekly for the San Jose area. Covers news related to movies, music, art, events, stage, dining, books, and cyber topics.

Newspapers & Newswires (national and international)

U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
From ProQuest: Users may search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives from the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Content includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. Also included: CBS News 60 MInutes, US Hispanic Newsstream, US Major Dailies, US Midwest Newsstream, US North Central Newsstream, US Northeast Newsstream, US South Newsstream
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
From ProQuest: 800+ sources available in this world news database including The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, International NY Times, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, and the Asian Wall Street Journal. Content from : Asian Newsstream, Australia and New Zealand Newsstream, European Newsstream, Latin American Newsstream, Middle East and African Newsstream.
New York Times via ProQuest (1980 - present ) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, full image, cover-to-cover access to the New York Times.
Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition) This link opens in a new window
detailed news and commentary on political, economic, and social issues worldwide affecting the world of business. Other editions available in the OneSearch Journals Index
Gale OneFile News This link opens in a new window
This full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. It provides access to 2,300+ major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.

Alternative newspapers & magazines

Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Alternative and independent media coverage. Independent voices and regional, rural, and metropolitan perspectives on local, national, and international issues from some of the most respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals in the U.S. Approximately 260+ publications.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
This collection includes newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press, and offers diverse viewpoints and perspectives.

Historical newspapers

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
270+ newspapers covering life in the Antebellum South -- abolitionism; the growth of the Black church; the Emancipation Proclamation; the Jim Crow Era; the rise of the N.A.A.C.P.; the Harlem Renaissance; the Civil Rights movement; political and economic empowerment and more.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Early American Newspapers is a fully searchable database offering exact reproductions of more than 700 historical American newspapers from the period 1690 through 1900.
California Digital Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-1922. Includes the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. It also contains issues of several current California newspapers that are part of a pilot project to preserve and provide access to contemporary papers.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 is a searchable digital archive of the largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers in a PDF format.
New York Times via ProQuest Historical (1851- present) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, full image, cover-to-cover access to the New York Times from 1851 through 2005.
Newspapers Archive, Historical (Google) This link opens in a new window
An historical collection of more than 2,400 newspapers, listed from A-Z in a searchable and browseable archive.
San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922) This link opens in a new window
This full text database provides comprehensive coverage of the San Francisco chronicle and complete page images. When completed, coverage will be from 1865-1922. From Jan 1, 1865 to Aug 31, 1868, known as The Daily Dramatic Chronicle; From Sept 1, 1868 to Aug 14, 1869, known as Daily Morning Chronicle; and from Aug 15, 1869, known as San Francisco Chronicle.

Peer-reviewed journals

Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Communication Source was developed from a merger of high-quality EBSCO databases, Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts (formerly published by Sage), and includes many unique sources not previously available in other databases. Offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
Gale OneFile Communications and Mass Media This link opens in a new window
Covers the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature. Includes academic journals, videos, magazines and images.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is a comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
JSTOR Journals and Books This link opens in a new window
The journals archive consists of older (at least 2-5 years) issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects including the arts, humanities, and social sciences. The eBook collections are DRM-free and allow for unlimited concurrent use and unlimited chapter downloads and printing.
Web of Science (and ESI & JCR) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines. Because it is a citation index, you can use this tool to find articles that cite a previously published work, allowing you to trace an idea forward and backward in the literature.

Images & Video

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street Press Academic Video Online delivers 66,000+ titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Docuseek2 This link opens in a new window
A collection of independent, social-issue and environmental films from renowned leaders in documentary film Note: To see which videos the library currently has, click on the Log In link at the website, select San Jose State University, click log in and select My Movies. These titles are also in OneSearch.
Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
Distributes online educational videos including documentaries, films, interviews plus a range of short video series. The videos are arranged by collections: Arts, Business, Communication/Media, Education (K-12), Health, Humanities, Science. SJSU students, staff, and faculty: You will be asked to authenticate on and off campus.
PBS Video Collection Fourth Edition This link opens in a new window
This collection of 1,300+ streaming videos includes documentaries and series from science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more.
AP Images This link opens in a new window
An archive of photos, images, video clips and audio files from the Associated Press.

Other useful journalism databases

Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 250 volumes of reviewed material, images, lesson plans, overviews and more about American and world pop culture and history.
Gale OneFile Pop Culture Studies This link opens in a new window
Access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture
Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960 - 1974 This link opens in a new window
Documents the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America—vividly conveying the zeitgeist of the decade and its effects into the middle of the next. Alongside 75,000 pages of letters, diaries, and oral histories, there are more than 75,000 pages of posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and rare audio and video materials—150,000 pages total upon completion. The collection is further enhanced by dozens of scholarly document projects, featuring richly annotated primary-source content that is analyzed and contextualized through interpretive essays by leading historians.
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels This link opens in a new window
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels is a scholarly, primary source database focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels. Beginning with the first underground comix from the 1960’s to the works of modern sequential artists, this collection contains more than 75,000 pages of comic and graphic novels, along with 25,000 pages of interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this artform.