SJSU Research Guides: Biological Sciences: Open Access Resources

Funder policies

SHERPA/JULIET
This page provides summaries of funder policies related to grants, and gives information about requirements for open access, self-archiving, and data archiving.

Publisher policies

SHERPA/RoMEO
Search by journal title, ISSN, or publisher name to find a summary of permissions related to self-archiving that are normally given as part of each publisher's copyright transfer agreement.
Publisher policies on NIH-funded authors
Publisher policies for authors funded by the U.S. National Institutes of Health.
NSF Publishing Mandate
Information for scientists and researchers who have received NSF funds.

Open Access Journals

BioMed Central
BioMed Central's portfolio of 206 journals includes general titles alongside specialist journals that focus on particular disciplines. All the research published by BioMed Central's journals is open access.

Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
A database of over 5000 free, full text, peer reviewed scientific and scholarly journals from around the world.

Free Medical Journals
Promoting free access to medical journals.
JURN
A curated academic search-engine, indexing over 3,500 free ejournals in the arts & humanities.
Public Library of Science (PLoS)
A non-profit organization founded by a group of biomedical scientists, currently publishes seven open access biomedical journals.
PubMed Central
"The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature."

Faculty of 1000

POST-PUBLICATION PEER REVIEW

The core service of Faculty of 1000 (F1000) identifies and evaluates the most important articles in biology and medical research publications. The selection process comprises a peer-nominated global 'Faculty' of the world's leading scientists and clinicians who rate the best of the articles they read and explain their importance. This is a subscription service that SJSU Library does not yet subscribe to. Individuals can sign up for a free trial.

The open access F1000 Reports journals add an extra dimension to F1000, providing unique, peer-reviewed reports on emerging themes in biology and medicine. F1000 Section Heads ensure coverage of the latest advances by selecting topics and nominating experts to provide context for the evaluated literature. The journals are indexed and/or abstracted by PubMed, PubMed Central, Scopus, Embase, Global Health and CAB Abstracts.

F1000 Research is an open access repository of conference posters, research articles and reviews, from across the life sciences and medicine.

On average, 1500 new evaluations are published each month; this corresponds to approximately the top 2% of all published articles in the biological and medical sciences.