SJSU Research Guides: Electrical Engineering: Find Articles / Databases

Find Articles / Databases

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Covers electrical, electronic and computer engineering information in IEEE and IEE journals, magazines & conference proceedings. Watch Tutorials WARNING: systematic downloads of the IEEE database or portions of the database are against the license agreement and will result in loss of access. Additionally, you may receive the following message: "You are viewing this page because you have reached a vendor mandated download limit."
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Offers access to engineering research literature and patent databases including Compendex and Inspec. Also includes GeoRef and GEOBASE databases.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Digital Library Core (DLC) of periodicals covers every aspect of computing. Peer reviewed (refereed) publications concentrate on theoretical and experimental papers. Magazines focus on practical applications in research, design and specification.

Web of Science (and ESI & JCR) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines. Included in the subscription: Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators (ESI). Use the ESI Help Guide and JCR Help Guide to learn more. Also included is the Grants Index which is found under the Web of Science core collection drop down menu.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and ebooks in science, technology and medicine (STM), arts, humanities and social sciences. Click on "Journals and Books" link on the website to filter by subscribed, open access and complimentary access to know what is available to you. Note: You may see a screen from Elsevier asking: “Are you a Human”. It's okay to click on the box. It's a verification process to prevent automated traffic (BOTS) from abusing excessive downloads of PDFs.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
This abstract and citation database covers thousands of scholarly journals, books, and conference proceedings. Covering a broad range of disciplines, Scopus enables one to track, analyze, and visualize research. Output data at the institutional and author levels are available. Authors will find h-index, Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP), and citation counts helpful in demonstrating the impact of their work.

engrXiv Preprints
Open access of Engineering Archive directed by a steering committee of engineers and engineering librarians.
arXiv.org
Electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. arXiv is maintained and operated by the Cornell University Library.
SJSU ScholarWorks, Electrical Engineering
The Electrical Engineering department at San José State University is a leading provider of engineering talent to Silicon Valley's high-tech industry. Our curriculum is designed to prepare our graduates for the dynamic global society. A very highly qualified and dedicated EE faculty is the strength of the department. The state-of-the-art laboratories, sponsored by industry, provide opportunity for our students to prepare for their profession.

Follow this step-by-step procedure to connect Google Scholar to SJSU GetText within the university databases.
Go to Customizing Google Scholar (3 minute tutorial).

Set your preferences in Google Scholar.

Click on Settings at the top of the page and then choose Library Links on the left and search for San Jose State University.
Select "San Jose State University – SJSU GetText" and click the Save button.

ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan)
Use Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) to request items such as books, articles (print or electronic copies), and dissertations from libraries worldwide.

Database Tutorials

Database Search Strategies for Engineering
Using Find It
Find It is a service that allows you to find full-text articles even when they're not in the database you're searching. This tutorial provides a brief introduction to using Find It to access the articles you need.
Find Books and Articles Using OneSearch
Use OneSearch to find the books and articles you need.

Engineering Village Database Search Strategies
Learn how to find articles in the Engineering Village database

IEEE Xplore Database Search Strategies
Learn how to search the IEEE Xplore database for information on your topic.

Web of Science Database Search Strategies
Learn how to find articles in the Web of Science database

Database Guides
Online tutorials for databases - ScienceDirect, Web of Science, Academic Search Complete, PubMed, and others

Can't Get Article full-text?

ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan)
Use Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) to request items such as books, articles (print or electronic copies), and dissertations from libraries worldwide.