SJSU Research Guides: Social Work: Websites

Local Government

Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG
ABAG connects is the regional planning agency for the 9 counties surrounding the San Francisco Bay. They promote advocacy, collaboration, and excellence in planning, research, and member services.
Santa Clara County Registrar of Voters
Voter registration, District look up, and more.
Santa Clara County
County Government Home page
City of San Jose
Information about local programs, schools, resident information, etc.

State Government

California State Assembly
Information about the assembly members and activities as well as links to find your representative and legislation.
California Department of Finance
This department is responsible for making fiscal projections on proposed legislation, developing population estimates and projections, and developing economic forecasts for the state. Creates the California Statistical Abstract, County Profiles, Economic Indicators for the state and other data of importance to projecting the economy of the state.
California State Senate
Information about the senate activities, offices, and district information.
Official California legislative information
Links to tools to look up bills, legislature, and other legislature information
New California Legislative Information Site
New site that will replace the current official site. Still in process of migration.
California Legislative Analyst's Office (LAO)
LAO is a non partisan state office that provides position papers on matters of policy and fiscal issues for the state legislature.

Federal Government

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA)
CFDA provides a full listing of all Federal programs available to State and local governments, federally-recognized Indian tribal governments, Territories of the United States, profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions, specialized groups, and individuals.
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)
HHS is the United States government’s principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services.
Social Security Online
Visit for information about retirement, veterans benefits, medicare, and other social security programs.
THOMAS
In the spirit of Thomas Jefferson, legislative information from the Library of Congress. Contains information about federal legislators, bills, laws, Congress, Congressional members and the legislative process.

Alcoholism & Drug Abuse

Alcoholics Anonymous
Contains information about Alcoholics Anonymous, how to contact them, a list of general services and resources for contacts and offices within the U.S., Canada and other countries.
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
NIAAA provides leadership in the national effort to reduce alcohol-related problems.
National Institute on Drug Abuse
NIDA's mission is to lead the Nation in bringing the power of science to bear on drug abuse and addiction.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
SAMHSA is an agency of the U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services. Their mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.
Narcotics Anonymous
Information about NA, their mission and services.

Family & Children Services

Child Welfare Information Gateway
Withing the Administration for Children & Families of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. Connects child welfare and related professionals to comprehensive information and resources to help protect children and strengthen families.
Responding to Child Abuse & Neglect
Resources in this section can help child welfare professionals protect children's safety, support families, and help prevent child maltreatment. They include resources for administrators and managers and information on reporting suspected child abuse and neglect; intake, investigation, and assessment of reports; addressing trauma; and collaborative responses.
Child Welfare League of America
The oldest and largest organization focusing on improving the welfare of children. This organization provides an array of services to children and families.
Violence Prevention - CDC
CDC is committed to stopping violence before it begins. Information, reports, statistics, and mediation assistance.
Violence Prevention Initiative
The goal of the Violence Prevention Initiative is to reduce violence and create safer and healthier communities for all Californians.
more...less...
The California Department of Public Health (CDPH) is committed to preventing violence and exploring innovative approaches to address this complex issue through the lens of public health. CDPH focuses on preventing multiple forms of violence and has established the Violence Prevention Initiative (VPI), with the purpose of elevating violence as a departmental priority, integrating and aligning efforts across multiple CDPH programs, and framing the public health governmental role in addressing violence.
California Partnership to End Domestic Violence
Information on public policy, statistics, other resources, and how to get involved.
California Evidence-Based Clearing House for Child Welfare
The California Evidence-Based Clearinghouse for Child Welfare (CEBC) provides child welfare professionals with easy access to vital information about selected child welfare related programs. The primary task of the CEBC is to inform the child welfare community about the research evidence for programs being used or marketed in California.

Health and Nutrition

American Cancer Society
Information on patients, family, & friends survivors, health information seekers, professionals, donors & volunteers.
Center of Disease Control and Prevention
About the CDC, announcements, data and statistics, funding opportunities, health topics A-Z.
Santa Clara County Public Health Department
The mission of Santa Clara County Public Health Department is to prevent disease and injury and create environments that promote and protect the community’s health.
National Institute of Mental Health
News & events, clinical trials, funding opportunities for the public, practitioners, and researchers.
National Institute on Aging
Provide leadership in aging research, training, health information dissemination, and other programs relevant to aging and older people.
National Institutes of Health
NIH is the nation’s medical research agency—supporting scientific studies that turn discovery into health.
National Library of Medecine
World's largest medical library, and creator of Medline/PubMed.
The Nathan S. Kline Institute for Psychiatric Research
The Nathan S. Kline Institute for Psychiatric Research (NKI) investigates the causes, treatment, prevention, and rehabilitation of severe and persistent mental illnesses. Founded in 1952, NKI has earned a reputation for landmark contributions in the areas of psychopharmacological treatments for schizophrenia and major mood disorders, dementia research, clinical trials methodology, therapeutic drug monitoring, and the application of computer technology to mental health services.
Food and Nutrition Service
Programs include Nutrition Assistance Programs, School Meals, Disaster Relief.
Food Resource and Action Center (FRAC)
FRAC is the leading national nonprofit organization working to improve public policies and public-private partnerships to eradicate hunger and undernutrition in the United States.

Housing, Homelessness, and Urban Development

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
An information source for housing and community development researchers and policymakers. This is the primary source for Federal Government reports and information on housing policy and programs, building technology, economic development
United States Interagency Council on Homelessness
Information about national funding and programs, links to local resources and federal departments.
National Coalition for the Homeless
Current information and news regarding homelessness, variety of national projects to end homelessness
National Law Center on Homelessness & Poverty
Provides legal information for ending homelessness, including information such as tenants' rights, legislative information, links to programs, and placing homelessness in larger context.
National Alliance to End Homelessness
The National Alliance to End Homelessness is a nonprofit, non-partisan, organization committed to preventing and ending homelessness in the United States. Has a substantial online library for homelessness and poverty information reports.
National Coalition for Homeless Veterans
Providing assistance to veterans in need shelter and employment. Current information regarding homeless veterans and legislation.
National Low Income Housing Coalition
The National Low Income Housing Coalition is dedicated solely to achieving socially just public policy that assures people with the lowest incomes in the United States have affordable and decent homes.

Poverty

Poverty Guidelines, Research, and Measurement
National poverty guidelines from the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation within the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.
Poverty - U.S. Census Bureau
The Census Bureau provides poverty data from several household surveys and programs. Here you can find poverty estimates, learn about these surveys and programs, and get guidance on how to choose the right estimate for your needs.
Hunger, Homelessness & Poverty Task Force
Social responsibilities round table of the American Library Association. Features valuable links and descriptions to resources and organizations that assist low-income people and address poverty.
National Center for Children in Poverty
Reports, state profiles, data tools and other useful information.
Institute for Research on Poverty
Interdisciplinary institute in the University of Wisconsin - Madison, provides current news, reports, research, and links for issues related to poverty.
Poverty Solutions
Poverty Solutions leverages the assets of the university to provide insights on preventing and alleviating poverty. This work can affect the lives of millions of Americans through partnerships with community groups and policy makers to test the most promising solutions possible.

Social Work

Social Work Websites

Social Work Organizations

Statistics

Legal Help

MISC

Local Government

State Government

Federal Government

Alcoholism & Drug Abuse

Family & Children Services

Health and Nutrition

Housing, Homelessness, and Urban Development

Poverty