SJSU Research Guides: Communication Studies: HELP

Evaluating Information

These sites can help you evaluate the accuracy, reliability, and currency of information in general, and Internet information in particular.

Fake News
How to identify and avoid fake news.
Evaluating Information Found on the Internet
A guide by Elizabeth E. Kirk of Johns Hopkins University.
more...less...
Includes video: Evaluating Sources for Credibility (3:14) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PLTOVoHbH5c
Evaluating Resources
A guide from the UC Berkeley library.
Critically Analyzing Information Sources
A resource from Olin-Kroch-Uris Libraries at Cornell University.
Evaluating Sources: Overview
A resource from the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL).

APA Resources (Citations)

APA: Electronic Sources (from OWL at Purdue)
Scroll down to find an example of an "Online Scholarly Journal Article" (e.g., article from library database) with the citation in APA Style.
APA References (Examples from OWL at Excelsior College)
Choose "Online Journal Article" (on the left) if you are using an article from a library database.

SJSU Writing Center

Writing Center: Assistance for all aspects of writing!

Online Tutoring & Chat are available:

https://www.sjsu.edu/writingcenter/

References (Example)

References in APA Style

Note: This example contains an error.

Database (COMM 20): General & Specific (Controversial Topics)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full text, peer reviewed academic journals that support scholarly research in key areas of academic study.
academic search premier
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Covers 1923 to the present. This weekly publication gives background information on current and controversial issues. Unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides an excellent first-step in researching any current social issue. Includes pro-con articles, opinion pieces, newspaper pieces, scholarly articles and information from many other types of sources, all full text.

COMM 10/20 Assignment

Try this: Find 2 Peer-Reviewed Articles - for 2 topics (4 articles in all).

Cite - APA format

Topics:

1) "Negative effects of social media on teenage self worth."

2) "Positive aspects of online dating versus organically meeting people in person."

Databases (suggested):

1) Academic Search Complete (Database). Use Peer-reviewed button (See link above) OR: "Articles" link from OneSearch (library.sjsu.edu) & peer-reviewed button.

2) Google Scholar - See the Search Box above

Note: Choose APA. Copy, Email, or Export Citation

Link for this page, HELP (COMM 10/20)

Communication Studies

CHAT: 7 Days per week!

Avoid Plagiarism

Primary Communication Studies Database