A brief guide to help you get started. It includes links to main education databases and other useful sources. Visit http://libguides.sjsu.edu for a more comprehensive list of resources arranged by academic disciplines for students and faculty.
Teacher Education to Enhance Diversity in STEM by A. Anthony Ash II; Greg A. Wiggan; Marcia J. Watson-VandiverAddressing underlying issues in science education and teacher training, which contribute to continued underrepresentation of racial and ethnic minority students in STEM and STEAM subjects and careers, this timely volume illustrates how a critical postmodern science pedagogy (CPSP) can be used effectively to raise awareness of diversity issues amongst preservice teachers. Using a case study design consisting of class observations, interviews, content analysis, questionnaires, and instructional interventions in preservice teacher training, the volume bridges science and multicultural education and investigates how curricular development and teacher preparation can be used to ensure that science education itself promotes diversity within STEM, and throughout education. Chapters also examine the intersections of science education and science literacy for both students and teachers and, in doing so, promote the importance of positive and accurate representation of diversity within science and research discourse. The book attempts to raise awareness regarding the need for meaningful curricular reform that creates real opportunities to address historical and scientific misinformation, while increasing diversity and inclusion in schools and society. This important text will be of interest to postgraduate students, researchers, scholars, and preservice teachers in the fields of science and mathematics education, STEM, multicultural education, teacher education, urban education, and the sociology of education.
Publication Date: 2020-12-29
Gender Futurity, Intersectional Autoethnography by Amber L. Johnson (Editor); Benny LeMaster (Editor)Gender Futurity, Intersectional Autoethnography showcases a collection of narrative and autoethnographic research that unpacks the complexity of gender at its intersections, i.e. by ability, race, sexuality, religion, beauty, geography, spatiality, community, performance, politics, socio-economic status, education, and many other markers of difference. The book focuses on gender as it is lived, chaperoned, and chaperones other social identity categories. It tells stories that reveal problematic gender binaries, promising gender futures, and everything in between--they ask us to rethink what we assume to be true, real, and normal about gender identity and expression. Each essay, written by both gender variant and cisgender scholars, explores cultural phenomena that create space for us to re-imagine, re-think, and create new ways of being. This book will be useful for undergraduate, postgraduate, and professional degree students, particularly in the fields of gender studies, qualitative methods, and communication theory.
Publication Date: 2020-05-07
Care and Culturally Responsive Pedagogy in Online Settings by Lydia Kyei-Blankson (Editor); Joseph Blankson (Editor); Esther Ntuli (Editor)As enrollment numbers continue to grow for online education classes, it is imperative instructors be prepared to teach students from diverse groups. Students who engage in learning in classrooms where their backgrounds are recognized and the instruction is welcoming and all-inclusive perform better. Individuals who teach in online settings must endeavor to create caring and culturally appropriate environments to encourage learning among all students irrespective of their demographic composition. Care and Culturally Responsive Pedagogy in Online Settings is a collection of innovative research on the incorporation of culturally sensitive teaching practices in online classrooms, and how these methods have had an impact on student learning. While highlighting topics including faculty teaching, restorative justice, and nontraditional students, this book is ideally designed for instructors, researchers, instructional designers, administrators, policymakers, and students seeking current research on online educators incorporating care and culturally responsive pedagogy into practice.
Publication Date: 2019-04-19
Fieldnotes in Qualitative Education and Social Science Research by Casey Burkholder (Editor); Jennifer Thompson (Editor)Building upon the incorporation of fieldnotes into anthropological research, this edited collection explores fieldnote practices from within education and the social sciences. Framed by social justice concerns about power in knowledge production, this insightful collection explores methodological questions about the production, use, sharing, and dissemination of fieldnotes. Particular attention is given to the role of context and author positionality in shaping fieldnotes practices. Why do researchers take fieldnotes? What do their fieldnotes look like? What ethical concerns do different types of fieldnotes practices provoke? By drawing on case studies from numerous international contexts, including Argentina, Cameroon, Canada, Ghana, Hong Kong, Hungary, Kenya, Lebanon, Malawi, the Netherlands, South Africa, and the US, the text provides comprehensive and nuanced answers to these questions. This text will be of interest to academics and scholars conducting research across the social sciences, and in particular, in the fields of anthropology and education.
Publication Date: 2020-05-14
In Search of Deeper Learning by Jal Mehta; Sarah FineWinner of the Grawemeyer Award in Education "The best book on high school dynamics I have ever read." --Jay Mathews, Washington Post "A hopeful, easy-to-read narrative on what the best teachers do and what deep, engaging learning looks like for students. Grab this text if you're looking for a celebration of what's possible in American schools." --Edutopia "A must-read for anyone interested in the fate of the American high school." --Linda Darling-Hammond, President and CEO, Learning Policy Institute What would it take to transform our high schools into places capable of supporting deep learning for students across a wide range of aptitudes and interests? To find out, Jal Mehta and Sarah Fine spent hundreds of hours observing and talking to teachers and students in and out of the classroom at thirty of the country's most innovative schools. To their dismay, they discovered that deeper learning is more often the exception than the rule. And yet they found pockets of powerful learning at almost every school, often in extracurriculars but also in a few mold-breaking academic courses. So what must schools do to achieve the integrations that support deep learning: rigor with joy, precision with play, mastery with identity and creativity? In Search of Deeper Learning takes a deep dive into the state of our schools and lays out an inspiring new vision for American education.
Publication Date: 2019-04-22
Just Schools by Ann M. Ishimaru; James A. Banks (Series edited by)Just Schools examines the challenges and possibilities for building more equitable forms of collaboration among non-dominant families, communities, and schools. The text explores how equitable collaboration entails ongoing processes that begin with families and communities, transform power, build reciprocity and agency, and foster collective capacity through collective inquiry. These processes offer promising possibilities for improving student learning, transforming educational systems, and developing robust partnerships that build on the resources, expertise, and cultural practices of nondominant families. Based on empirical research and inquiry-driven practice, this book describes core concepts and provides multiple examples of effective practices. Book Features: Broadens the dominant conception of leadership to include traditionally marginalized parents and communities as potential educational leaders. Explores partnerships from both a systemwide and in-school basis, with detailed portraits of what is possible. Translates theoretical principles at multiple scales: systemic, school, and individual practice. Shares studies focused on a broad range of contexts, strategies, and practices for enacting equitable collaboration with families.
Publication Date: 2020-01-10
Learning Online by George VeletsianosOnline learning is ubiquitous for millions of students worldwide, yet our understanding of student experiences in online learning settings is limited. The geographic distance that separates faculty from students in an online environment is its signature feature, but it is also one that risks widening the gulf between teachers and learners. In Learning Online, George Veletsianos argues that in order to critique, understand, and improve online learning, we must examine it through the lens of student experience. Approaching the topic with stories that elicit empathy, compassion, and care, Veletsianos relays the diverse day-to-day experiences of online learners. Each in-depth chapter follows a single learner's experience while focusing on an important or noteworthy aspect of online learning, tackling everything from demographics, attrition, motivation, and loneliness to cheating, openness, flexibility, social media, and digital divides. Veletsianos also draws on these case studies to offer recommendations for the future and lessons learned. The elusive nature of online learners' experiences, the book reveals, is a problem because it prevents us from doing better: from designing more effective online courses, from making evidence-informed decisions about online education, and from coming to our work with the full sense of empathy that our students deserve. Writing in an evocative, accessible, and concise manner, Veletsianos concretely demonstrates why it is so important to pay closer attention to the stories of students--who may have instructive and insightful ideas about the future of education.
Publication Date: 2020-05-19
Learning to Teach in an Era of Privatization by Christopher A. Lubienski (Editor); T. Jameson Brewer (Editor); Janelle Scott (Foreword by)In an age of consumer choice, decentralization, and deregulation in education, policymakers often demonstrate surprisingly little awareness of how popular reforms impact teaching and teacher education. This raises a number of questions: To what extent has the push for privatization and marketization of education shaped how we recruit and train the next generation of teachers? What are they taught and why? How do such policies impact the dispositions of colleges of education and alternative teacher certification organizations? In this book, well-regarded scholars help readers develop a more robust understanding of the nature of teacher preparation, as well as an in-depth grasp of how these policies, practices, and ideologies have taken root domestically and internationally. Book Features: An in-depth examination of the impact of market-based reforms on both teaching and teacher preparation. Contributions from respected scholars with a long history of preparing K-12 teachers. A focus on teacher preparation in the United States, along with a much-needed international perspective. Covers new ground by blending important public and academic conversations about privatization and teacher training.
Publication Date: 2019-07-19
Slaying Goliath by Diane RavitchDiane Ravitch writes of those who have privatized the schools, the Disrupters, who believe America's schools should be run like businesses, with teachers incentivized with threats and bonuses, and schools that need to enter into the age of the gig economy in which children are treated like customers or products. She writes of the Koch brothers, the DeVos family, the Waltons (Walmart), Eli Broad, Bill Gates, Michael Bloomberg, Mark Zuckerberg, and many more, on the right and the left, as well as corporations, foundations, etc., intent on promoting the privatization of one of our most valued public institutions. Ravitch lays out, in extensive detail, the facts showing that the ideas put forth by school privateers have failed; that their promises of higher test scores have not come to pass; that the "great hope" of Common Core has been a dud. Arrayed against these forces, Ravitch writes of the volunteer army--"the Resisters"--that has sprung up from Seattle, Texas, and Colorado, to Detroit, New Orleans, and Buffalo, New York--parents, teachers, grandparents, students, bloggers, religious leaders, brave individuals, who, spurred on by conviction, courage, determination, and the power of ideas and passion, are fighting back to successfully keep alive their public schools.
Publication Date: 2020-01-21
Transformative Pedagogies for Teacher Education: Critical Action, Agency and Dialogue in Teaching and Learning Contexts by Ann C. LopezUnderstanding student diversity through intersubjectivity: introducing lesson study in teacher education in Norway and the United States / Nina Helgevold and Aki Mutaah -- Examining efficacy of equity education: challenging uncritical and laminated notions of equity in teacher education / Ann E. Lopez -- Secondary preservice teachers exploration of inclusive education: transformation in urban elementary classrooms engaged with a transdisciplinary science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) initiative / Jennifer Lock and Petra Redmond -- Integrating learning spaces: understanding conditions that enable transformational shifts in teacher education programs and practices / Lisa J. Starr and Kathy Sanford -- Rethinking the intersectionality of the zone of proximal development: the challenges of disruptive and transformative change to improve instruction / enrique puig -- Fidelity of practice: the challenge of transformative change in teacher professional development / Mary Hutchinson and Xenia Hadjioannou -- Experience of transformation: educator perspectives / Amanda Jo Cordova, Encarnacin Garza, Jr., and Juan Manuel Nio -- Student responses to critically compassionate intellectualism in teacher education for social justice / Amy Rector-Aranda -- Enacting social justice colloquia as a key component of a transformative teacher: education program / Todd S. Hawley, Lisa A. Borgerding, and Kristine E. Pytash -- Self-study as a transformative methodology and pedagogical practice in a writing workshop / Elsie Lindy Olan -- Vulnerability starts with myself: bilingual teacher educator identity as pedagogy / Blanca Caldas Chumber -- Transforming teacher education: nurturing innovative pathways of collaboration essential to democratizing teacher education / Edward Podsednik and Michelle Parker-Katz -- We don't do this work alone: how practitioner demos develop digital praxis in teacher education / Cherise Martinez-McBride, Lanette Jimerson, and Jabari Mahari.