A brief guide to help you get started. It includes links to main education databases and other useful sources. Visit http://libguides.sjsu.edu for a more comprehensive list of resources arranged by academic disciplines for students and faculty.
California Commission on Teacher Credentialing
The California Commission on Teacher Credentialing is an agency in the Executive Branch of California State Government. It was created in 1970 by the Ryan Act and is the oldest of the autonomous state standards boards in the nation. The major purpose of the agency is to serve as a state standards board for educator preparation for the public schools of California, the licensing and credentialing of professional educators in the State, the enforcement of professional practices of educators, and the discipline of credential holders in the State of California.
Developed to meet requirements of laws relating to credentialing and employment. This test requirement in no way replaces any of the other requirements of subject matter knowledge, professional preparation, and practice teaching or field experience used in the issuance of credentials. The CBEST is designed to test basic reading, mathematics, and writing skills found to be important for the job of an educator; the test is not designed to measure the ability to teach those skills.
Provides standardized test scores from the Scholastic Assessment Test (SAT-I), American College Test (ACT), and the Advanced Placement Tests (AP) which measure high school students' achievement.
documents the rich heritage and current culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Dominicans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Hispanic groups in the United States. Their stories are detailed through a robust collection of primary and secondary sources, beginning with pre-16th century Mayan, Incan, and Aztec empires and continuing through to the present day, with treatment also given to cultural themes including coming-of-age rituals, music, literature, and cuisine. On the controversial issues shaping the modern Latino American experience—such as immigration reform, media portrayals, and voting access and influence—credentialed academics offer varied perspectives to serve as both sources and exemplars of scholarly argumentation.
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
UCLA's Center for World Languages (CWL) coordinates language research, teaching and evaluation programs. We develop innovative methods of second language education, advocate for their implementation and facilitate their transfer into formal classrooms and informal settings. CWL offers programs in partnership with other campus departments and schools, and with public and private institutions throughout the USA and abroad.