A brief guide to help you get started. It includes links to main education databases and other useful sources. Visit http://libguides.sjsu.edu for a more comprehensive list of resources arranged by academic disciplines for students and faculty.
Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Aalso covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
Additionally, this database includes indexing for nearly 1,025 periodicals dating back to 1983. Education Full Text also features in-depth coverage of special education, with more than 50 journals dedicated to this important topic.
Established in 1966, ERIC is the largest education database in the world-containing over 1.5 million records of journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books.
Covering a century of research, this database provides cover-to-cover indexing for an international range of English-language periodicals and yearbooks in the field of education. Limited to 2 concurrent users
(formerly known as Ed/ITLib Digital Library). Peer-reviewed and published international journal articles and proceedings papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning.
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA) contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines, dating from the 1800s
Offers educators a wide range of subjects for grades K-12. The videos also include information on alignment with Common Core State Standards and ancillary material for teachers to use in their own classrooms.
Distributes online educational videos including documentaries, films, interviews plus a range of short video series. The videos are arranged by collections: Arts, Business, Communication/Media, Education (K-12), Health, Humanities, Science. SJSU students, staff, and faculty: You will be asked to authenticate on and off campus.
This database contains abstracts, a keyword list, a suggested reading list, as well as Further Insights/Applications that demonstrates how points discussed in overviews can be applied to everyday teaching and administration.
Coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more.
Titles covered in this database include Sports Illustrated Kids, Scholastic News, National Geographic and dozens more. contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History, reference books such as the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, the Encyclopedia of Animals, and more than 1.2 million relevant photos, maps, and flags. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
Primary Search provides full text for 70+ popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
This service is primarily used in the K–12, university, and public library setting. Includes: original, in-studio movies of authors and illustrators, audio excerpts of professional book readings, guides to thousands of titles, booklists and a wealth of multimedia resources on children's and young adult literature. It debuted at the American Library Association convention in San Francisco in June 2001, and was launched on the Internet September 1, 2001.