SJSU Research Guides: Asian American Studies: Other Resources

Reports

Overview of Southeast Asian Education Challenges 2013

Newspapers

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Offers exact reproductions of 700+ historical American newspapers from the period 1690-1900.
Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
The Los Angeles Times (also known as the LA Times) is a daily newspaper published in Los Angeles, California and distributed throughout the Western United States.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers The San Francisco Chronicle This link opens in a new window
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. (1865-1922). From Jan 1, 1865 to Aug 31, 1868, known as The Daily Dramatic Chronicle; From Sept 1, 1868 to Aug 14, 1869, known as Daily Morning Chronicle; and from Aug 15, 1869, known as San Francisco Chronicle. Help Guide
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, full image, cover-to-cover access to the New York Times.
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
From ProQuest: Users may search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives from the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Content includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. Also included: CBS News 60 MInutes, US Hispanic Newsstream, US Major Dailies, US Midwest Newsstream, US North Central Newsstream, US Northeast Newsstream, US South Newsstream

Japanese Americans

A selected list of resources

Ansel Adams's Photographs of Japanese American Internment - Library of Congress
Bay Area Television Archive, Japanese American Collection - San Francisco State University
Japanese American Archival Collection - Library, CSU Sacramento
Japanese American Digitization Project - California State University
Japanese American National Museum - Museum Online Collections
Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive - Bancroft Library, UC Berkeley

Chinese Americans

A selected list of resources

Chinese in California 1850-1925 Bancroft Library
Chinese Immigration and the Chinese in the United States National Archives
Unbound voices: a documentary history of Chinese women in San Francisco [ebook]

Southeast Asian Americans

Statistics on Southeast Asians adapted from the American Community Survey 10/2011

Southeast Asian Resource Action Center (SEARAC)

Organizations

Asian American Studies SJSU
http://www.sjsu.edu/siss/academics/minor_aas/index.html

Asian/Pacific American Heritage Association
http://www.apaha.org/

Association for Asian American Studies
http://www.aaastudies.org/

Center for Asian American Media
http://www.asianamericanmedia.org/

Chinese Historical and Cultural Project (Santa Clara, CA)
http://www.chcp.org/

Japanese American Museum of San Jose
http://www.jamsj.org/

South Bay Queer & Asian
http://www.sbqa.com/

Vietnamese American Council (San Jose)
http://www.viet-nam.org/

Organization of Asian Descents of North America
http://www.asianamerican.net/organizations.html

Asian American Studies

Websites

Korean Americans

Vietnamese Americans

Sports

Other Resources