Library and Information Science

The Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences, now in its fourth edition, compiles the contributions of major researchers and practitioners and explores the cultural institutions of more than 30 countries. This major reference presents over 550 entries extensively reviewed for accuracy in seven print volumes or online. The new fourth edition, which includes 55 new entires and 60 revised entries, continues to reflect the growing convergence among the disciplines that influence information and the cultural record, with coverage of the latest topics as well as classic articles of historical and theoretical importance.

Start Here: Library and Information Science Source (LISS), which indexes more than 2,000 journals, is probably the database you will use most often.

This Taylor & Francis database searches only about 50 peer-reviewed journals but includes some important titles. Articles you have access to have a green check mark below and to the right of the title. Others can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Updated daily with peer reviewed and trade publication articles covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology, including usability, cataloging, circulation, business information, and more.

This comprehensive database includes articles from a wide variety of disciplines.

Contains 30+ library science journals and is good for library management, collection management, and reference.

A terrific resource for INFO 285. Sage Research Methods includes books, articles, videos, and datasets. It also has case studies of actual research projects using a wide variety of research methods.

Web of Science covers a wide variety of disciplines. Use it for citation searches and researching a subject forward and backwards in the literature.

Use Library Lit Retrospective for historical research. It has articles dating from 1905-1983.

Is it peer-reviewed? Search on the journal title in Ulrich's. If it is marked as "refereed," it is peer reviewed.