SJSU Research Guides: Counselor Education: Databases & Journal Articles

Major Database

Main Education Research Databases:

ERIC via Ebsco This link opens in a new window
This database contains more than 2,200 full text documents along with citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
This is another education database that indexes and abstracts articles in English-language periodicals
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
This database covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education.

Psychology Research Databases:

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA) contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines, dating from the 1800s. PsycINFO is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
psy psych psycho psychinfo psych info psyc
DSM-5 This link opens in a new window
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders is the standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals in the United States. Subscription also includes DSM-5® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis and DSM-5® Clinical Cases and more

Use Proquest Dissertations if you are looking for a dissertation or thesis:

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Primary database for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Full text of more than 1.9 million of these titles is available in PDF format. Represents over 1,000 graduate schools and universities in North America and around the world. Dissertations from 1980 & master's theses from 1988 include abstracts written by the author. Help Guide available.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Critical authoritative review articles consisting of examinations of scholarly advances in a number of fields of science and social science. See Psychology, Clinical Psychology, and Neuroscience. Full text coverage of all Annual Reviews articles published since 1996, with citations and abstracts for older articles. Critical authoritative review articles consisting of examinations of scholarly advances in a number of fields of science and social science. Each summarizes a topic, evaluates the state of research on that topic, and lists relevant published research in lengthy bibliographies.

Counseling and Therapy in Video
This online video collection, ideal for training in social work, psychology, multi-cultural studies, and other areas, includes hundreds of hours of streaming videos.
more...less...
This online video collection, ideal for training in social work, psychology, multi-cultural studies, and other areas, includes hundreds of hours of streaming videos. The sessions are hosted and edited by leading psychologists, psychiatrists, social workers, and academics in the U.S., Canada, and the U.K. Demonstrations, training videos, actual therapy sessions with real clients, reenacted sessions, lectures, discussions, and workshops give students and instructors exciting new learning tools. The streaming videos are accompanied by transcripts that are automatically in sync with the video. The text that is spoken is highlighted in real-time as the video is playing.
Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes and abstracts a broad array of basic social sciences journals, including interdisciplinary fields. Full text coverage begins in January 1995.
more...less...
Indexes and abstracts a broad array of basic social sciences journals, including interdisciplinary fields. Full text coverage begins in January 1995.

JSTOR Journals and Books This link opens in a new window
The journals archive consists of older (at least 2-5 years) issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects including the arts, humanities, and social sciences. The eBook collections are DRM-free and allow for unlimited concurrent use and unlimited chapter downloads and printing.

You will need to set up Google Scholar the first time you use it on your computer.
Here's how:

Visit scholar.google.com
Click on the upper left corner icon
gear settings icon
Click on "Library Link"
Searh for "San Jose State University", check the box, Save
Now your searches will have FindIt@SJSU link that is attached to each result.