SJSU Research Guides: Philosophy: PHIL Background & Reference Sources

Encyclopedias

The Oxford Companion to Philosophy
Provides an encyclopedic view of philosophy's past and present. This e-book is available to all SJSU students.
Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
This work consists of more than 2000 abbreviated entries pulled from the ten-volume Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Most entries include suggestions for further reading. This e-book is available to all SJSU students.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (1998)
Print resource. 10 volumes.
B51 .R68 1998 - KING +REFERENCE 2ND FLOOR
The Concise Encyclopedia of Western Philosophy
Includes authoritative entries on Western philosophy. This e-book is available to all San Jose Public Library customers (you must have a library card to access this book).
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Encyclopedia entries: resources on the public internet or authored by professionals. Suitable for undergraduates or general interest researchers.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Dynamic online encyclopedia; in-depth, detailed entries regularly updated. An international (U.S., Netherlands, UK) scholarly resource.
Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy (2001)
Print resource. Valuable companion to study of Asian philosophies. Also a copy (1997) in King Reference (B121 .C66 1997)
181.003 COMPANIO - KING NONFICTION 3RD FLOOR
Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Simon and Schuster, 1996)
Print resource. Valuable source of background information on Philosophy for all levels. 8 volumes. Copy also in King Reference.
B41 .E5 1996X - KING 6TH FLOOR
Encyclopedia Britannica
Full text of the 32-volume Encyclopedia Britannica (additional articles and images not available in the print set) and of Webster's Third New International Dictionary Unabridged.

Dictionaries

The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
Dictionary-like entries on traditional ancient Eastern and Western philosophers, statesmen, and theologians, as well as important modern influences. Includes cross-references. This e-book is available to all SJSU students.
Dictionary of World Philosophy
Includes entries drawn from West Africa, Arabic, Chinese, Indian, Japanese, Jewish, Korean, Latin American, Maori and Native American philosophy. This e-book is available to all San Jose Public Library customers (you must have a library card to access this book).
Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names
Guide to technical terms and personal names often encountered in the study of philosophy. Primarily western philosophy.

Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
Traces the evolution of the English language over the last millennium and includes definitions, history, and pronunciation of over half a million English words, present and past. Also known as OED. Help Guide
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly articles on literary topics, authors, and their works. Also includes reviews of books, biographies of authors, background essays on literary topics and full text versions of poems and short stories that have been published in contemporary journals.

Philosophy

Featured Resources

Biographies

Encyclopedias

Dictionaries