SJSU Research Guides: Chemical & Materials Engineering: Find Article/Databases

Find Articles/ Databases

Try these first:

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
All engineering fields, including chemical engineering . Single platform for cross searching Compendex and Inspec for finding journal articles, conference papers, and other documents. Covers all aspects of engineering, including electrical, computer, structural, mechanical, aerospace, chemical, ocean, biomedical, and environmental engineering, as well as physics and related disciplines. Duplicate references between the two databases can be removed.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Essential index to the chemical literature and related sciences, including chemical engineering, materials science, & nanotechnology. Search 52 million article and patent references, CAS Registry (204 million substances, many include property data information and spectra) & CASREACT (millions of single and multi-step reactions and million synthetic preparations). Search by topic/keyword, author, chemical substance (Registry number, chemical name, structure, substructure) or chemical reaction. Register for an account (SJSU Only). This resource also includes CAS Analytical Methods and CAS Formulas that may be accessed from the menu in SciFinder N or directly once you have an account. Here is the link for SciFinder-n Help Guide.
Materials Science & Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
Includes METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
Web of Science (and ESI & JCR) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines. Included in the subscription: Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators (ESI). Use the ESI Help Guide and JCR Help Guide to learn more. Also included is the Grants Index which is found under the Web of Science core collection drop down menu.

Other places to look:

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Searches MEDLINE, the leading database of journal articles in the health sciences, including medicine, nursing, the allied health sciences, public health, and the basic sciences. Coverage is 1946 - present.
ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
Online editions of 36 scientific journals published by the American Chemical Society.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and ebooks in science, technology and medicine (STM), arts, humanities and social sciences. Click on "Journals and Books" link on the website to filter by subscribed, open access and complimentary access to know what is available to you. Note: You may see a screen from Elsevier asking: “Are you a Human”. It's okay to click on the box. It's a verification process to prevent automated traffic (BOTS) from abusing excessive downloads of PDFs.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full text, peer reviewed academic journals that support scholarly research in key areas of academic study.
academic search premier
Scopus This link opens in a new window
This abstract and citation database covers thousands of scholarly journals, books, and conference proceedings. Covering a broad range of disciplines, Scopus enables one to track, analyze, and visualize research. Output data at the institutional and author levels are available. Authors will find h-index, Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP), and citation counts helpful in demonstrating the impact of their work.

National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
The National Technical Information Service acquires, indexes, abstracts, and archives the largest collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports in existence. The NTRL offers online, free and open access to these authenticated government technical reports. Technical reports and documents in its repository may be available online for free either from the issuing federal agency, the U.S. Government Publishing Office’s Federal Digital System website, or through search engines.

Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
CompuStat This link opens in a new window
Gale Business Insights This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile Economics and Theory This link opens in a new window
Hoovers Company Profiles This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer is a web-based mapping and data visualization tool that allows you to explore 500,000+ data indicators and over 220 years of data for the United States including all Decennial Censuses, American Community Surveys and many other datasets. The interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand markets, voting, poverty, aging populations, ethnicity and race, spending patterns, health indicators, crime, environment, education, and more.
Statista This link opens in a new window

Follow this step-by-step procedure to connect Google Scholar to SJSU GetText within the university databases.
Go to Customizing Google Scholar (3 minute tutorial).

Set your preferences in Google Scholar.

Find Settings in the Menu (3 bars) at the top of the page and then choose Library Links on the left and search for San Jose State University.
Select "San Jose State University – FindIt@SJSU" and click the Save button.
Also, under "Settings" and "Search Results" you can set the Bibliography Manager to "RefWorks" and "Save" to import citations from Google Scholar directly into RefWorks.

MORE on Google - see the Advanced Google research guide.

ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan)

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) to request items such as books, articles (print or electronic copies), and dissertations from libraries worldwide.