SJSU Research Guides: Biomedical Engineering: Find Articles/Databases

Find Articles, Standards, and Patents

FDA Guidance Documents

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly, peer-reviewed biological, ecological, and environmental sciences journals.
Engineered Materials Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Material ConneXion This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Web of Science (and ESI & JCR) This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window

Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection provides reports analyzing economic and political developments worldwide, and evaluates issues within a coherent political, social, and economic framework. Includes Hoovers profiles, Oxresearch and more.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
CompuStat This link opens in a new window
Compustat provides thousands of annual and quarterly income statement, balance sheet, cash flow, pension, supplemental, and descriptive data items for active and inactive companies. Subscription includes some access to Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP). This service offers security-level historical descriptive information and market data on more than 27,000 stocks (inactive and active companies) from the NYSE, NYSE MKT, NASDAQ, and Arca exchanges.
Access Instructions:When using a computer in the King Library, users will be linked to a page where they must enter their campus email address in order to be given a "WRDS Daypass" for access. Off campus users will authenticate first (Tower ID, PIN) and then can enter their campus email address to be given a "WRDS Daypass." Alternatively, students and faculty may choose to register for an individual account.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
General news and company, industry, and other business information (mostly full-text) from newspapers, newswires, magazines, trade journals in 22 languages from 118 countries. Also includes color photos from Reuters and Knight-Ridder publications, company reports, SEC filings, web contents, and transcripts from BBC, ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox, CNN, NPR and more.
Gale Business Insights This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile Economics and Theory This link opens in a new window
Hoovers Company Profiles This link opens in a new window
Statista This link opens in a new window

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Alt Healthwatch This link opens in a new window

Technical Reports are issued or sponsored by government agencies, associations & societies, councils, foundations, laboratories, or academic institutions. The format provides rapid communication of new research results to the funder. The reports include detailed methodology and data in order to facilitate review of research results by others. Technical Reports are typically not peer reviewed, but generally are the result of another selection process (grant, contract, or institutional affiliation).

National Technical Reports Library - Provides access to a large collection of historical and current U.S. Government technical reports.
OSTI - U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific & Technical Information
DTIC U.S. Department of Defense Technical Information Center
EPA NSCEP National Service Center for Environmental Publications
IAEA International Atomic Energy Agency Publications
NACA: National Advisory Committee on Aeronautics 1917-1958
NASA Technical Reports Server - aerospace-related technical reports created or funded by NASA
NIST National Institute of Standards and Technology
NTRL National Technical Reports Library
ROSA Repository & Open Science Access Portal United States National Transportation Library
TRAIL Technical Report Archives and Image Library
TRID U.S. Transportation Research Board and OECD Joint Transport Research Centre International Transport Research.
OSTI U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information Technical Reports

Techstreet Enterprise This link opens in a new window
ASTM Standards & Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window

Parents are a potential source of keywords for industry jargon or terminology. Patent searching can reveal information about a process, technology, or product that may otherwise be proprietary or a trade secret.

A Quick Guide to Searching Patents Video

Follow this step-by-step procedure to connect Google Scholar to SJSU GetText within the university databases.
Go to Customizing Google Scholar (3 minute tutorial).

Set your preferences in Google Scholar.

Find Settings in the Menu (3 bars) at the top of the page and then choose Library Links on the left and search for San Jose State University.
Select "San Jose State University – FindIt@SJSU" and click the Save button.
Also, under "Settings" and "Search Results" you can set the Bibliography Manager to "RefWorks" and "Save" to import citations from Google Scholar directly into RefWorks.

MORE on Google - see the Advanced Google research guide.

ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan)

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) to request items such as books, articles (print or electronic copies), and dissertations from libraries worldwide.

Quick Search Tutorial

Find Books and Articles Using OneSearch
Use OneSearch to find the books and articles you need.
Using Find It
Find It is a service that allows you to find full-text articles even when they're not in the database you're searching. This tutorial provides a brief introduction to using Find It to access the articles you need.