Helpful Databases - NuFS 144 - Food Culture - Consuming Passions - SJSU Research Guides at San José State University Library

Encyclopedias

Use encyclopedias to gain some background information on your food. These can be short, but highly descriptive entries on a food topic.

Countries and Their Culture
Surveys each country's food, culture, rituals, traditions, among other things.

CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
CountryWatch provides critical country-specific intelligence and data that covers demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental subject matter. Click on My Subscription in top right corner of page to to discover what's included and available.
Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Full text of the 32-volume Encyclopædia Britannica (additional articles and images not available in the print set); Merriam Webster's Dictionary; over 130,000 links to web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors. Other resources include country comparisons and data analysis; history timeline; brief biographies; as well as articles from the New York Times and the BBC.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Offers an online collection of reference materials including encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online contains 100+ dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University press.
World Geography This link opens in a new window
General information on countries of the world, including overviews of the culture, environment, history, and government.

General Article and Newspaper Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full text, peer reviewed academic journals that support scholarly research in key areas of academic study.
academic search premier
Daily Life Databases (America, Pop Culture, Indian, Latino, etc) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, cross-disciplinary resource that supports history, social studies, English, and language students, Daily Life moves from past to present, providing context for contemporary life and culture. Lesson plans are included that explore everyday life, past and present in every geographic area.
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
Covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. Includes peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents. The subscription also includes access to the ebooks Diversity & Ethnic Studies collection covering diversity, equity and inclusion.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
This collection includes newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press, and offers diverse viewpoints and perspectives.
Food Science Source This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text coverage for 1,300+ publications, all dealing with food industry-related issues, such as packaging, processing, product development, safety, etc. More than 1,000 key food industry and market reports are also included.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals as well as major reference and bibliographic resources, thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN and videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. It also provides full text access to the New York Times from 1985.
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
As Gale’s largest general interest periodical database, Gale General OneFile includes magazines, news,articles, academic journals, images,and video to support everyday research.
Gale OneFile Culinary Arts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 5 million+ articles from more than 250 major cooking and nutrition magazines, as well as book reference content from Delmar such as About Wine, Introduction to Catering, Advanced Bread and Pastry, and Eat Fit Be Fit.
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition This link opens in a new window
Covers several core subjects, featuring full-text articles from more than 3,000 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, dating back to 1994. Additional content includes indexing and abstracting for more than 5,100 publications and retrospective coverage dating as far back as 1982.
ProQuest News and Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search all of the ProQuest news databases: Alt+PressWatch, Canadian Major Dailies, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Global Newsstream, International Newsstream, U.S. Newsstream, Historical NYT, Historical SF Chronicle. Alternatively, these databases may be searched separately in the Articles and Databases list.

Anthropology, History, and Culture Databases

America: History and Life with Fulltext This link opens in a new window
Reference tool for U.S. and Canadian history and culture. With full-text coverage of hundreds of journals and books, and selective indexing for journals from 1863 to present.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Current issues of American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins as well as archived issues of all the AAA's journals, newsletters and bulletins.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
This database covers scholarly research and industry news dating back to 1965. Sources are both domestic and international in range and scope. There is full text for more than 490 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
JSTOR Journals and Books This link opens in a new window
The journals archive consists of older (at least 2-5 years) issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects including the arts, humanities, and social sciences. The eBook collections are DRM-free and allow for unlimited concurrent use and unlimited chapter downloads and printing.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly articles in literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, social science, mathematics.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
A broad array of basic social sciences journals, including interdisciplinary fields. Covers a wide array of areas, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies, and much more.