Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy by
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy, Sixth Edition is the ultimate 'how to' guide for learning the practical and useful methods for reviewing scientific literature in the health sciences. This text is an outstanding resource for students who need a practical, step-by-step set of instructions for how to organize, conduct, and write a synthesis of literature on a topic of their choice. The hallmark of this text is the inclusion of the Matrix Method developed by the author which outlines one of the many ways to approach a literature review. This method is a practical, easy-to-use structure and process for reviewing research literature, particularly in the health sciences and nursing. Updates on PRISMANew content on predatory publishing"How-to" format, step-by-step instructions and practical examplesTemplates and interactive web resourcesNavigate Companion Website, including learning objectives and additionalresources on the use of data visualization in health literature reviews
Managing Your Mental Health During Your PhD by
This book explores the PhD experience as never before and provides a "survival guide" for current and prospective PhD students. The book investigates why mental health issues are so common among the postgraduate population, going beyond the statistics, looking at lived experience of both the author and as well as current PhD students, who have found balancing mental wellness with the PhD endeavour challenging. The author discusses tips and tricks she wished she had known at the start of her PhD process for managing mental health, such as managing imposter feelings, prioritising workload, and self-care strategies to help others throughout their own journey. The book goes beyond typical mental health discussions (where the focus for improving mental health is placed on PhD students to become "more resilient") and explores some of the often unspoken environmental factors that can impact mental health. These include the PhD student-supervisor relationship, the pressure to publish, and deep systemic problems in academia, such as racism, bullying and harassment. Finally, the book is a call to action, providing tangible improvements from the author's perspective that university institutions can make to ensure that academia is a place for all to thrive.
Quality improvement : a guide for integration in nursing by
"Quality improvement is a key competency expected of nursing students and of staff in health care organizations. This text provides nurses with a clear framework to plan, implement, and lead continuous QI initiatives regardless of healthcare setting. It equips practicing nurses and nursing students at all levels with the knowledge and competencies required to engage in continuous quality improvement, leading to measurable improvement in health care services and patient outcomes"--
Visualizing Health and Healthcare Data by
The only data visualization book written by and for health and healthcare professionals. In health and healthcare, data and information are coming at organizations faster than they can consume and interpret it. Health providers, payers, public health departments, researchers, and health information technology groups know the ability to analyze and communicate this vast array of data in a clear and compelling manner is paramount to success. However, they simply cannot find experienced people with the necessary qualifications. The quickest (and often the only) route to meeting this challenge is to hire smart people and train them. Visualizing Health and Healthcare Data: Creating Clear and Compelling Visualizations to "See how You're Doing" is a one-of-a-kind book for health and healthcare professionals to learn the best practices of data visualization specific to their field. It provides a high-level summary of health and healthcare data, an overview of relevant visual intelligence research, strategies and techniques to gather requirements, and how to build strong teams with the expertise required to create dashboards and reports that people love to use. Clear and detailed explanations of data visualization best practices will help you understand the how and the why. Learn how to build beautiful and useful data products that deliver powerful insights for the end user Follow along with examples of data visualization best practices, including table and graph design for health and healthcare data Learn the difference between dashboards, reports, multidimensional exploratory displays and infographics (and why it matters) Avoid common mistakes in data visualization by learning why they do not work and better ways to display the data Written by a top leader in the field of health and healthcare data visualization, this book is an excellent resource for top management in healthcare, as well as entry-level to experienced data analysts in any health-related organization.
1) Log in on our library website with your SJSU ID number and SJSUOne password to access our databases from anywhere off-campus. Are you having trouble accessing your library account? Contact:
Jeff Frank
Senior Customer Services Coordinator for Access
Email: jeff.frank@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 808-2326
2) Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request access to something we don't have in our library, like a book or journal article. You will need to set up an account the first time you use ILL. Note: Be sure to set your status correctly. SJSU Distance indicates students members who are exclusively engaged in online classes. DNP students and faculty should select:
3) Our Online Students' Guide has more tips and tricks for our SJSU distance faculty and students.
Most online journal articles require subscriptions to get access. If SJSU Library subscribes to the journal in question, this tool will help you access the article off-site without first looking it up on the library website.
Drag this button up to your bookmarks toolbar in your browser (or right-click to save it to your favorites toolbar).
Now, when you're on a website that you'd like to redirect through the Library's proxy server, clicking this button will automatically reload the page.
If the full-text still won't open, we might not subscribe to this item. Look it up on OneSearch or submit an Interlibrary Loans request to get access.
DNP Project Workbooks
The DNP Project Workbook by
Note to Readers: Publisher does not guarantee quality or access to any included digital components if book is purchased through a third-party seller. Streamlines the DNP Project into clear, concrete, and manageable steps Authored by nurse educators with an in-depth understanding of the challenges of the DNP Project, this text provides sequential, guided activities designed to jump-start and project students forward through the DNP Project process. By incorporating active learning activities into project development, the workbook delivers a proven method for developing, implementing, evaluating, and sustaining the DNP Project. It fosters critical thinking and innovation, while also providing a means for faculty to measure and document the progress of project milestones. The DNP Project Workbook offers more than 100 activities that address all facets of the DNP Project, including the identification, investigation, and framing of problems; project team assembly; research; methodology; implementation; and dissemination. This resource also includes examples of a variety of DNP Projects to demonstrate the successful integration of all elements. The activities may be completed within the workbook or in online, editable PDFs for easy submission to faculty. Supplemental resources include PowerPoint slides, a DNP Essentials mapping document, and blank activities and templates.Key Features: Provides sequential, guided activities designed to jump-start and project students forward through the DNP Project processOffers more than 100 active learning activities that address all facets of the DNP ProjectDelivers a proven method for developing, implementing, evaluating, and sustaining DNP ProjectsFacilitates measurement and documentation of project milestonesFeatures examples of a variety of DNP ProjectsIncludes a robust resources package, including PowerPoint slides, a DNP Essentials mapping document, and editable activity formsPurchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers
The Doctor of Nursing Practice Project by
The Doctor of Nursing Practice Project, A Framework for Success, Third Edition guides students and faculty in the DNP project process. With a primary focus on delivering key information on planning, implementing, and evaluating a project, the text also emphasizes the impact that DNP-prepared nurses and well-developed DNP projects have in shaping the future of nursing. The Third Edition focuses on the evolution of the DNP degree by featuring AACN taskforce updates and reorganized content about the clinical scholar and practice scholarship. With chapters devoted to formulating a meaningful DNP project, from selecting appropriate project team members to the importance of communicating and disseminating the results of the project appropriately, it serves as a comprehensive guide for students and faculty alike.New to the Third Edition:* Updated historical perspectives* Overview of project variability* Coverage of project sustainability and measures of impact* New chapter on health policy, how policies impact practice, and how the DNP nursing role relates to advocacy* Navigate 2 Essentials Package features digital templates of the project tools
Inquiry and Leadership: A Resource for the DNP Project by
How do you... identify your scholarly project practice problem? assess and select the relevant literature and studies? evaluate the outcome? disseminate the information to ensure better care outcomes? Here's your guide to understanding, applying, and coordinating the process of evidence-based practice for your DNP scholarly or capstone project. Step-by-step, you'll learn everything you need to know to successfully complete your project and develop the leadership skills that enhance the DNP's role in practice. From the theoretical and philosophical foundation of evidence-based practice and collecting and analyzing evidence as the basis for practice through translating the research into solving a practice issue and evaluating the outcome, you'll have all of the tools you need to successfully complete your project and bring about changes in clinical, management, and educational practices.
The Doctor of Nursing Practice Scholarly Project by
One universal requirement for any Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) candidate, regardless of the institution they attend, is the successful completion of a scholarly project. The Doctor of Nursing Practice Scholarly Project: A Framework for Success is the first resource of its kind to guide students in completing this requirement. This text develops a process and framework for completing the scholarly project in an effective and efficient manner. It focuses on important aspects of the scholarly project, such as: Formulating a meaningful scholarly project Selecting appropriate committee members Working effectively with the committee Understanding how professional collaboration positively influences the final product Developing a project plan and writing the project proposal Understanding potential research implications, and the importance of communicating and disseminating the results of the project Emphasizing how research contributes to evidence-based practice (EBP) in nursing This accessible text helps DNP students through every step of their Scholarly Project. It includes action plans recommending next steps, concept maps highlighting the stages of the DNP scholarly project, interviews with practicing DNPs, and sidebars from thought leaders and experts from the field to help readers make the most of their scholarly project.
Mapping out your project
Looking for journal articles on a topic?
Start with one of these library databases.
You can also try any of the following:
Do you need more help searching our databases? Try one of these tutorials first. If you still need help, contact your librarian!
The SJSU Library has several resources that can be used to identify assessments and other instruments to support research and patient-care.
Caution: you may need to contact the author or publisher of a tool to 1) have access to the complete instrument and 2) get permission to reuse it.
Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health
Psychiatric clinicians should use rating scales and questionnaires often, for they not only facilitate targeted diagnoses and treatment; they also facilitate links to empirical literature and systematize the entire process of management. Clinically oriented and highly practical, the Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health is an ideal tool for the busy psychiatrist, clinical psychologist, family physician, or social worker. In this ground-breaking text, leading researchers provide reviews of the most commonly used outcome and screening measures for the major psychiatric diagnoses and treatment scenarios. The full range of psychiatric disorders are covered in brief but thorough chapters, each of which provides a concise review of measurement issues related to the relevant condition, along with recommendations on which dimensions to measure and when. The Handbook also includes ready-to-photocopy versions of the most popular, valid, and reliable scales and checklists, along with scoring keys and links to websites containing on-line versions. Moreover, the Handbook describes well known, structured, diagnostic interviews and the specialized training requirements for each. It also includes details of popular psychological tests (such as neuropsychological, personality, and projective tests), along with practical guidelines on when to request psychological testing, how to discuss the case with the assessment consultant and how to integrate information from the final testing report into treatment. Focused and immensely useful, the Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health is an invaluable resource for all clinicians who care for patients with psychiatric disorders."
More sources can be found on the following SJSU research guides:
Use a citation management software like Zotero to organize your body of knowledge, share citations within a research group, and format your citations in a given style.
