SJSU Research Guides: ART 100W: City Hall

San Jose City Hall

Articles from the San Jose Mercury News are available from the Newsbank database, which is a subscription of the San Jose Public Library. If you are logging into this database from off-campus, you will need to use your SJ Library Card number and pin as opposed to your SJSU student id number.

San Jose Mercury News (SJPL) (Full-text newspaper articles, 1985-)

Calisphere: a world of primary sources This link opens in a new window
A public gateway to a world of primary sources, including those for teachers and lesson plans. More than 150,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California. There is a section titled: Especially for Teachers which gives information and links about teaching and learning with primary sources, including sample lesson plans, primary source analysis sheets, etc.

Wikipedia on SJ City Hall
Wikepedia's article on San Jose City Hall could be a starting point for your research, and has a long list of references for further research. However, check with your instructor about using it as one of your official sources, since Wikipedia is not considered a scholarly source.

Librarian

Kate Steffens

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Special Collections & Archives
Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Library
San José State University
One Washington Square
San José, CA 95192-0028

408 808-2131

Subjects: Art & Art History, Design

Richard Meier

This official website of Richard Meier & Partners will provide a list of works and facts about the projects.

https://meierpartners.com/project/san-jose-city-hall

Books from the Catalog

Meier & Partners. Complete Works 1963 - 2013 by Philip Jodidio (Editor)
ISBN: 9783822836835
Publication Date: 2008-05-01
The entire span of renowned contemporary architect Richard Meier's career is included in this exceptional volume, which was created by close collaboration between the architect, the author, and noted designer Massimo Vignelli.
Richard Meier Museums by Germano Celant (Introduction by); Michael Shapiro (Afterword by); Massimo Vignelli (Designed by); Richard Meier
ISBN: 9780847828357
Publication Date: 2006-11-14

Film about Richard Meier

Film about Richard Meier
Streaming film from Kanopy platform about Richard Meier, produced in 2005.
more...less...
You will need to log in with your student id and library pin to access the film.

Databases for Art and Design journals

These databases access the journal literature for Art and Design.

Arts and Humanities Full Text
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.
Art Index Retrospective
Major index to art and architecture periodicals from 1929-1984.
more...less...
Dates of Publications: 1929 to 1984; use Art Full Text for 1984 to present.

DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
Covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts. Disciplines covered include ceramics, glass, jewelry, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture. Period covered: Mid-19th century to present Dates of publications: 1973 to present.

Database Spotlight: Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is one of the world's largest educational databases. Discover how to use its search feature to find full-text articles.

News Databases

Newspaper articles can be useful for locating reviews of exhibitions, artist interviews, and biographical information on artists. You will need to use a variety of databases for complete coverage of newspaper articles.

U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
From ProQuest: Users may search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives from the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Content includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. Also included: CBS News 60 MInutes, US Hispanic Newsstream, US Major Dailies, US Midwest Newsstream, US North Central Newsstream, US Northeast Newsstream, US South Newsstream
ProQuest News and Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search all of the ProQuest news databases: Alt+PressWatch, Canadian Major Dailies, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Global Newsstream, International Newsstream, U.S. Newsstream, Historical NYT, Historical SF Chronicle. Alternatively, these databases may be searched separately in the Articles and Databases list.