Skip to main content

ART 100W

Art 100W - art writing

Finding Books

With our library catalog, OneSearch, you can search for books held here and at the other CSU campuses.

Books are key resources for Art and Design Research. As you search, keep in mind that the catalog records for books are brief. If you are seeking books that will contain lots of images, look for titles with "exhibition catalogue" or "catalogue raisonne" as part of the description.


OneSearch Catalog

Enter Your Search Term:

Begin Your Research

If you are beginning research on an unfamiliar topic, first consult reference sources — dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, etc. — for useful overviews and introductory information about an artist, artwork, art object, art form, movement, or time period.

Reference sources will frequently include recommended readings for your topic. Bibliographies that point to other relevant sources of information can be found in Oxford Art Online and the Met Museum's Timeline of Art History.

Oxford Art Online  
Provides access to Grove Art Online, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists.

Oxford Reference  
Oxford Reference Online contains 100+ dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University press.

 

Oxford English Dictionary Online
Traces the evolution of the English language over the last millennium and includes definitions, history, and pronunciation of over half a million English words, present and past. Help Guide