SJSU Research Guides: Gerontology: Find Articles By Topic

Recommended Databases

Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas. Use the GetText link to obtain fulltext of articles from your search.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO indexes journals and other materials in psychology, psychiatry, and related disciplines. Use the GetText link to find fulltext articles from your PsycINFO searches.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed indexes medical and nutrition journals. Search this database for topics such as nutrition and physical problems in aging.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
This allied health database covers topics relevant to gerontology such as patient care and long term care.
Web of Science (and ESI & JCR) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science indexes high impact journals in science, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Because Web of Science is a citation index, you can use this tool to find articles that cite a previously published work, allowing you to trace an idea forward and backward in the literature. In addition to cited reference searching, you can search this databases by topic, author, and more. Use the GetText link to obtain the fulltext of articles found in your Web of Science search.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers and dissertations in sociology and related social and behavioral sciences.
ERIC via Ebsco This link opens in a new window
ERIC via Ebsco contains citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals. Limit your search to journal articles only.