Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ARTH 193B

The Silk Road

The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition

The Chicago Manual of Style Online by University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff  
Call number for print book: Reference 2nd Floor Z253 .U69 2017
 
An authoritative, trusted source that writers, editors, and publishers turn to for guidance on style, grammar, usage and documentation. The SJSU Library has the latest edition of The Chicago Manual of Style, which includes citation guidelines for all of the examples below as well as additional source types—including musical works, works of art, social media comments, private messages, and app content. It also includes guidelines for essay formatting and styling.

Notes and Bibliography: What's the Difference?

Citation format (the order and appearance of content in the citation) in notes differs from citation format in the bibliography.

Notes Bibliography

Notes, also called footnotes, appear throughout the text at the bottom of the page. A single source may be cited several times throughout your paper. 

The bibliography is included at the end of the paper. Each source will be listed only once. 

Notes and Bibliography: Sample Citation Format

Basic Format:

Full Note:

x. Author's first name Last name, Title in Italics with Headline Style Capitalization: Including Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page number or range if relevant.

Subsequent Reference to the Same Text:

x. Last name, Title in Shortened Form, page number.

Bibliography Entry:

Author's last name, First name. Full Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Examples:

Full Note:

1. Zadie Smith, Swing Time (New York: Penguin Press, 2016), 315–16.

Subsequent Reference to the Same Text:

3. Smith, Swing Time, 320.

Bibliography Entry:

Smith, Zadie. Swing Time. New York: Penguin Press, 2016.

For two or three authors, list each author in the order presented on the title page of the book. For more than three authors, list the first author's name followed by "et al."

 

Basic Format:

Full Note:

x. First author's first name Last name and Second author's first name Last name, Title (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page number or range if relevant.

Subsequent References to the Same Text:

x. First author last name and Second author last name, Title in Shortened Form, page number.

Bibliography Entry:

First author's last name, First name, and Second author's first name Last name. Full Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Examples:

Full Notes:

2. Brian Grazer and Charles Fishman, A Curious Mind: The Secret to a Bigger Life (New York: Simon & Schuster, 2015), 12.

3. Randall Arendt et al., Growing Greener: Putting Conservation into Local Plans and Ordinances (Washington, DC: Island Press, 1999).

Subsequent References to the Same Text:

4. Grazer and Fishman, Curious Mind, 37.

5. Arendt et al., Growing Greener.

Bibliography Entries (in alphabetical order):

Arendt, Randall, Holly Harper, Stephen Kuter, and Diane Rosencrance. Growing Greener: Putting Conservation into Local Plans and Ordinances. Washington, DC: Island Press, 1999.

Grazer, Brian, and Charles Fishman. A Curious Mind: The Secret to a Bigger Life. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2015.

In a note, cite specific pages. In the bibliography, include the page range for the chapter or part.

 

Basic Format:

Full Note:

x. Author's first name Last name, "Chapter Title," in Book Title, ed. Editor's first name Last name (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page number or range if relevant.

Subsequent References to the Same Text:

x. Last name, "Chapter Title," page number.

Bibliography Entry:

Author's last name, First name. "Chapter Title." In Book Title, edited by Editor's first name Last me, page numbers of the chapter. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Examples:

Full Note:

1. Henry David Thoreau, "Walking," in The Making of the American Essay, ed. John D’Agata (Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016), 177–78.

Subsequent References to the Same Text:

3. Thoreau, "Walking," 182.

Bibliography Entry:

Thoreau, Henry David. “Walking.” In The Making of the American Essay, edited by John D’Agata, 167–95. Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016.

In a note, cite specific page numbers. In the bibliography, include the page range for the whole article. For articles consulted online, include a URL or the name of the database. Many journal articles list a DOI (Digital Object Identifier). A DOI forms a permanent URL that begins https://doi.org/. This URL is preferable to the URL that appears in your browser’s address bar.

 

Basic Format:

Full Note:

x. Author's first name Last name, “Article Title,” Journal Title Volume, Issue no. (Year): page number.

Subsequent References to the Same Text:

x. Last name, "Article Title," page number.

Bibliography Entry:

Author's last name, First name. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume, Issue no. (Year): page range.

Examples:

Full Notes:

1. Susan Satterfield, “Livy and the Pax Deum,” Classical Philology 111, no. 2 (April 2016): 170.

2. Shao-Hsun Keng, Chun-Hung Lin, and Peter F. Orazem, “Expanding College Access in Taiwan, 1978–2014: Effects on Graduate Quality and Income Inequality,” Journal of Human Capital 11, no. 1 (Spring 2017): 9–10, https://doi.org/10.1086/690235.

3. Peter LaSalle, “Conundrum: A Story about Reading,” New England Review 38, no. 1 (2017): 95, Project MUSE.

Subsequent References to the Same Text:

4. Satterfield, “Livy,” 172–73.

5. Keng, Lin, and Orazem, “Expanding College Access,” 23.

6. LaSalle, “Conundrum,” 101.

Bibliography Entries (in alphabetical order):

Keng, Shao-Hsun, Chun-Hung Lin, and Peter F. Orazem. “Expanding College Access in Taiwan, 1978–2014: Effects on Graduate Quality and Income Inequality.” Journal of Human Capital 11, no. 1 (Spring 2017): 1–34. https://doi.org/10.1086/690235.

LaSalle, Peter. “Conundrum: A Story about Reading.” New England Review 38, no. 1 (2017): 95–109. Project MUSE.

Satterfield, Susan. “Livy and the Pax Deum.” Classical Philology 111, no. 2 (April 2016): 165–76.