Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ARTH 193B

The Silk Road

Search the Library Catalog

OneSearch Catalog

Enter Your Search Term:

Begin Your Research

If you are beginning research on an unfamiliar topic, first consult reference sources — dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, etc. — for useful overviews and introductory information about an artist, artwork, art object, art form, movement, or time period.

 

Oxford Art Online  
Provides access to Grove Art Online, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists.

Oxford Reference  
Oxford Reference Online contains 100+ dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University press.

 

The Metropolitan Museum of Art Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History  
The Timeline presents a thematic, chronological, and geographical exploration of global art history through The Met collection. It is a reference, research, and teaching tool conceived for students and scholars of art history. It is authored by The Met’s experts, and currently comprises more than 1,000 essays, close to 7,600 works of art, 300 chronologies, and 3,700 keywords. It is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on the collection.

Image Resources

Databases


Museums

 

Cantor Arts Center  
Art museum on the campus of Stanford University. The Cantor’s collection spans 5,000 years and includes more than 38,000 works of art from around the globe. Open and free for everyone.

The Asian Art Museum of San Francisco  
One of the most comprehensive Asian art collections in the world. The online collection database has 13,133 objects organized by exhibition, collection, and gallery.

The British Museum  
The British Museum is the authoritative source of images depicting world culture and history including ceramics, sculpture, prints, drawings, and paintings.

The Asia Society  
Object study and historical timeline from Monks and Merchants: Silk Road Treasures from Northwest China, Gansu and Ningxia, 4th–7th Century