SJSU Research Guides: Chicana &amp; Chicano Studies: CCS 74

Tutorials

Tutorials Online
Tutorials on:
- Finding Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Articles
- Plagiarism
- Customizing Google Scholar
and more

Books

Books along with other resources are searchable through

Do your first search by using the book title, author, or by keyword. Given that you will receive more than book titles (articles and other materials will be included) you may need to limit your search to BOOKS or ARTICLES only. See the left-hand menu, under Resource Type and click on the type of material you want to limit to. If you should need additional help locating materials or instruction on using the OneSearch catalog or other online databases Chat with a librarian or contact me directly.

Article Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full text, peer reviewed academic journals that support scholarly research in key areas of academic study.
academic search premier
SocINDEX with FullText This link opens in a new window
A resource for core journals in sociology and related disciplines including criminology, ethnic studies and more. In addition to full-text journals, it contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Covers 1923 to the present. This weekly publication gives background information on current and controversial issues. Unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides an excellent first-step in researching any current social issue. Includes pro-con articles, opinion pieces, newspaper pieces, scholarly articles and information from many other types of sources, all full text.

Articles

Online Article Databases SJSU Article & Databases/A-Z Titles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full text, peer reviewed academic journals that support scholarly research in key areas of academic study.
academic search premier
ERIC via Ebsco This link opens in a new window
The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to educational literature and resources.
ebsc ebsco host ebscohost ebso
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly articles on literary topics, authors, and their works. Also includes reviews of books, biographies of authors, background essays on literary topics and full text versions of poems and short stories that have been published in contemporary journals.
Music Index Online This link opens in a new window
Index to international music and dance periodicals. Includes references to journal articles; reviews of books, recordings, and performances; also obituaries. Covers classical, popular, and world music and musicians; also dance.
Latino Literature This link opens in a new window
Full text access to the literature of Chicanos, Puerto Ricans, Cubans, as well as Argentinians, Salvadorians, Dominicans, and other Central and South Americans. The vast majority of the materials are from the Chicano renaissance to the present. About 30% of the database is previously unpublished or rare materials. It represents the most comprehensive collection of Latino Literature yet completed and, when complete, it will include 100,000 pages of fiction and poetry and 450 plays.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Hispanic American Periodicals Index is a major resource for information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. This subscription is supported by an NEH Challenge Grant: "Any views, findings, conclusions or recommendations expressed in this database do not necessarily represent those of the National Endowment for the Humanities."
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Ethnic Studies Library at UC Berkeley, this bibliographic index covers a wide range of materials focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience with selective indexing dating back to early 1900s. Coverage of the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants begins with 1992 onwards. Covers Chicano/a art, education, folklore, health. history, labor, language & literature, music, politics, public policy, religion, sociology and women's studies.
Latin American Women Writers This link opens in a new window
An extensive searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America from 1500 to the present. The database includes literary works, memoirs, feminist essays and other material by writers such as Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz, Gertrudis Gomez de Avellaneda, and Julia Lopes Almeida. Later authors set for addition include Alfonsina Storni (Argentina), Juana de Ibarbourou (Uruguay), Gabriela Mistral (Chile), and Clarice Lispector (Brazil). This database serves as an important resource on both the feminist history of Latin America, and the lives of some of its major players.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
This collection includes newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press, and offers diverse viewpoints and perspectives.

Other Libguides

Website Opinion Polls

Website:

Pew Hispanic Research Center: http://www.pewhispanic.org (see PUBLICATIONS link) - Reports on Immigration, Education, Labor, Crime and much more.
Rand Corporation:http://www.rand.org Reports on health, education, national security, international affairs, law and business, the environment and more.

Chicana & Chicano Studies

Librarian