SJSU Research Guides: Public Health and MPH Program: Datasets (Data Banks)

Datasets, also known as data sets and databanks, are a collection of raw statistics and information generated by a research study.

You can find most datasets by finding the agency or organization conducting research in a particular area.
For example, Pew Research Center is an excellent place to look if you want to find out what people think about social issues.
Population Estimates Program from American Factfinder, run by the U.S. government, would provide data about people.

Please explore these additional LibGuides:

Health Datasets

Global Health Observatory (GHO)
The World Health Organization's (WHO) gateway to health-related statistics for more than 1000 indicators for its 194 member states.
CDC National Survey Collections
Public health statistics
Health.Data.gov
Datasets, tools, and applications gathered from agencies across the Federal government
HIV/AIDS Database
Data from 219 countries and areas on the prevalence of HIV infection and AIDS cases and deaths.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
Contains current data from surveys such as the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS), the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), birth and mortality detail files, National Immunization Survey, Longitudinal Study of Aging, and National Survey of Family Growth (NSFG)

Data Banks

U.S. Census This link opens in a new window
The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. Statistics are organized by themes, or topics, making it easier for you to find what you need.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer is a web-based mapping and data visualization tool that allows you to explore 500,000+ data indicators and over 220 years of data for the United States including all Decennial Censuses, American Community Surveys and many other datasets. The interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand markets, voting, poverty, aging populations, ethnicity and race, spending patterns, health indicators, crime, environment, education, and more.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods contains books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences.The collection provides case studies, showing the challenges and successes of doing research, written by the researchers themselves. Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves. Videos contain tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum. Note: When searching, please limit results to "content available to me". We do not have access to everything.
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
CountryWatch provides critical country-specific intelligence and data that covers demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental subject matter. Click on My Subscription in top right corner of page to to discover what's included and available.
CALSPEAKS SSRIC Data Sets This link opens in a new window
CALSPEAKS* at Sacramento State is a unique and ongoing academic investigation of public opinion in California, emphasizing the social, economic, political, and environmental issues that distinguish our state. Learn more here
County Business Patterns This link opens in a new window
The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. Analyze economic changes over time.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
This is an archive of social science data (aging, population, economics, health, etc) for research and instruction. The data files are to be used with statistical software, such as SAS or SPSS. Note:You need to create an account to gain full access. At the website, please select Create an Account, then click the Google link and use your SJSU email address to be authenticated. You will get a one time set up code. Once your account is created, continue using the Google link to sign in using your SJSU credentials. Contact ICPSR-help@umich.edu for acct problems.
Simmons Insights This link opens in a new window
Provides access to U.S. adult consumer data on product and brand usage, spending behavior, media habits, and more. Restricted to 3 users at a time. Please be courteous and close your browser or tab when done.

Bike Share Data Systems
Links to multiple data portals to get trip information
MIT EdX Participants
Deidentified records of individuals use of course materials
MovieLens
Movie ratings in datasets of varying size, good for merging
National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS)
Database of product injuries
Stanford Open Policing Project
Data by state about police stops, including driver race and outcome
Yelp Open Dataset
Reviews, business attributes, and picture datasets. Get ideas from their challenges
Crime Data Explorer (CDE)

American Statistical Association: Data Expo
Datasets on various formats on various topics
Analytics Vidhya - Datasets for Machine Learning
24 Ultimate Data Science Projects To Boost Your Knowledge and Skills
Biostatistics Datasets from NHLBI
The NHLBI has prepared three datasets suitable for use in an undergraduate or graduate level biostatistics instruction program. These datasets are freely available upon request.
Centre for Multilevel Modelling Datasets
A small collection of multi-level datasets in MLwinN and fixed format
CORGIS: The Collection of Really Great, Interesting, Situated Dataset
Provides data in csv or json
Data Quest - Data Science Projects
18 places to find data sets for data science projects
Generalized Linear Models Datasets
Small datasets in Stata and Plain Text format
Image Sets by Computational Vision at Caltech
A collection of image datasets including bird, faces, toys, cars, buildings, and many more
Kaggle Datasets
User-contributed open data with preview or Competition Data
Lionbridge AI - Datasets for Machine Learning
The 50 Best Free Datasets for Machine Learning
Portal Project Teaching Database
A small collection of real-world data in ecology that has been simplified. Datasets are currently in csv, json, and sqlite.
RDatasets
Repository for datasets distributed with R and various R packages
Sample Social Network Datasets
Collection of social network datasets formatted for Gephi

Henry A. Murray Research Archive
A repository for quantitative and qualitative research data that includes data, audio, and video
Library of Congress: Occupational Folklife Project
Contains several special projects such as the Veterans History Project, the Civil Rights History Project, StoryCorps and more
re3data
Search for repositories by broad topic area to identify a data archive that contains qualitative information
Syracuse Qualitative Data Repository
QDR stores digital data generated and analyzed through qualitative and multi-method research.
UK Data Archive Open Access Qualitative Data
The UKDA provides the largest collection of digital data in the social sciences and humanities in the UK.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
This is an archive of social science data (aging, population, economics, health, etc) for research and instruction. The data files are to be used with statistical software, such as SAS or SPSS. Note:You need to create an account to gain full access. At the website, please select Create an Account, then click the Google link and use your SJSU email address to be authenticated. You will get a one time set up code. Once your account is created, continue using the Google link to sign in using your SJSU credentials. Contact ICPSR-help@umich.edu for acct problems.