SJSU Research Guides: Mechanical Engineering: Find Databases / Articles

Find Articles / Databases

ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) Digital Collection includes the full-text of all ASME journals from 1990 to present. ASME’s conference proceedings and e-books are searchable, but are not available full-text.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Offers access to engineering research literature and patent databases including Compendex and Inspec. Also includes GeoRef and GEOBASE databases.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and ebooks in science, technology and medicine (STM), arts, humanities and social sciences. Click on "Journals and Books" link on the website to filter by subscribed, open access and complimentary access to know what is available to you. The Advanced Search screen also allows you to filter by subscribed, open access and complimentary access, and subject areas to know what is available to you.
ASTM Standards & Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The library includes journals, 12,900 standards, technical publications, manual, proceedings and bulletins that cover these engineering disciplines: aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science and solar engineering.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Covers electrical, electronic and computer engineering information in IEEE and IEE journals, magazines & conference proceedings. Watch Tutorials WARNING: systematic downloads of the IEEE database or portions of the database are against the license agreement and will result in loss of access. Additionally, you may receive the following message: "You are viewing this page because you have reached a vendor mandated download limit."
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. It draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Web of Science (and ESI & JCR) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines. Included in the subscription: Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators (ESI). Use the ESI Help Guide and JCR Help Guide to learn more.
ASM Handbooks This link opens in a new window
ASM Handbooks Online provides comprehensive information on metals and materials technology. Included are ASM Handbook's 28 volumes, various supplements, and two desk editions.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Digital Library Core (DLC) of periodicals covers every aspect of computing. Peer reviewed (refereed) publications concentrate on theoretical and experimental papers. Magazines focus on practical applications in research, design and specification.

engrXiv Preprints
Open access of Engineering Archive directed by a steering committee of engineers and engineering librarians.
arXiv.org
Electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. arXiv is maintained and operated by the Cornell University Library.

Set your preferences in Google Scholar to connect to SJSU databases:

Go to Google Scholar.
Click on the three-bar icon on the top left of the page.
Choose Settings and Library Links
Type in: San Jose State University.
Check the box for San Jose State University – FindIt@SJSU and Save.

You can also search Google Scholar from the search box on the library website:

Google Scholar search box

New York Times Online This link opens in a new window
Access and personalize the New York Times website with your SJSU email address. Here are instructions to create your NYTimes account. Once you have created your account, use it to sign into the NY Times website from anywhere. Includes interactives, video, and audio, plus digital images of the newspaper back to 1851.
NewsBank California Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection featuring California news sources including newspapers, university and college newspapers, web only content, blogs, newswires, and America's News magazines. The collection includes San Jose Mercury News.

Can't get article full-text?

ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan)

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) to request items such as books, articles (print or electronic copies), and dissertations from libraries worldwide.

Set up an ILLiad account. Expect an article to be emailed to you in 2 to 10 days.

Database Tutorials

Database Search Strategies for Engineering
Using Find It
Find It is a service that allows you to find full-text articles even when they're not in the database you're searching. This tutorial provides a brief introduction to using Find It to access the articles you need.
Find Books and Articles Using OneSearch
Use OneSearch to find the books and articles you need.

Engineering Village Database Search Strategies
Learn how to find articles in the Engineering Village database

IEEE Xplore Database Search Strategies
Learn how to search the IEEE Xplore database for information on your topic.

Web of Science Database Search Strategies
Learn how to find articles in the Web of Science database

Database Guides
Online tutorials for databases - ScienceDirect, Web of Science, Academic Search Complete, PubMed, and others