Wonderful resource which features short biographies on poets, select poems from authors, and critical articles on the authors. Go here to find background information on poets, main themes in their work, and an overview of their work.
A website from The Academy of American Poets, this covers multiple generations of poets, but has good information about contemporary American ones. As well, there is an "Essays & Interviews" section which provides a broader glimpse of some of the featured authors. Searchable by author, title, movement, theme, or general keyword, using the Advanced Search option.
Started in 1967, the AWP provides support and resources for creative writers in higher education.
Founded in 1970, P&W fosters professional development and promotes communication within the literary community.
News, information and guides to independent bookstores, independent publishers, literary magazines and more.
Hosted by the English Dept at University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, MAPS is designed as an digital learning environment, and includes syllabi from external English faculty regarding contemporary American poetry. Author links include reviews and critiques with appropriate citations.
This page is specific to contemporary authors, and includes local ones such as Michael Chabon. Primarily a book-length review resource, but it is possible to access "Short Stories" under the tag cloud on the sidebar. Searchable by author, title, or reviewer.
Litseen--a quiet lightening project
Litseen is a project of Quiet Lightning, a literary nonprofit with the mission to foster community based on literary expression and to provide a safe and supportive arena for said expression. To that end, we maintain a daily calendar of the Bay Area’s literary events — as comprehensive as possible. We update the calendar weekly using our hub and daily as events come in; we go to events and film them and sometimes talk about them. We also conduct weekly interview profiles of local authors and curate SF/Arts‘ monthly top 10 literary events.
Poetry Flash publishes reviews of poetry and literary fiction, poems, interviews, essays, and submission and award information for all creative writers—poetry, fiction, and creative nonfiction, online and in print. Poetry Flash also features an extensive listing of literary events in the West, especially comprehensive online. The all-genre, online literary calendar, divided geographically, provides readers with an in-depth portrait of events all over California, the Pacific Northwest (Washington, Oregon), and the Southwest (Arizona, New Mexico), with a representative sampling of other national and international events, conferences and festivals. Featuring event highlights that direct readers to the online calendar, Poetry Flash is published as a junior tab newspaper in editions of 22,000, on the "free paper" model, serving a maximum audience by maintaining the largest circulation possible. Production and distribution are supported by advertising, subscriptions, grants, and donations. Poetryflash.org hits 19,500 visits per month; the online events calendar is frequently updated.