SJSU Research Guides: Anthropology: Databases (Peer-Reviewed Articles)

Most Useful Databases

These resources have been personally selected by your librarian. If you have questions please contact me.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full text, peer reviewed academic journals that support scholarly research in key areas of academic study.
academic search premier
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Current issues of American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins as well as archived issues of all the AAA's journals, newsletters and bulletins.
Arts & Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Explore the areas of art and design, Archaeology, anthropology and classical studies, architecture, urban planning, philosophy, geography and religion, modern languages and literatures, music, theatre, film and cultural studies. and more. Titles include both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
Covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. Includes peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents. The subscription also includes access to the ebooks Diversity & Ethnic Studies collection covering diversity, equity and inclusion.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Encompasses all key fields of the humanities, covering topics including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and much, much more. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and much more
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. This resource is for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought. This subscription is supported by an NEH Challenge Grant: "Any views, findings, conclusions or recommendations expressed in this database do not necessarily represent those of the National Endowment for the Humanities."
JSTOR Journals and Books This link opens in a new window
The journals archive consists of older (at least 2-5 years) issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects including the arts, humanities, and social sciences. The eBook collections are DRM-free and allow for unlimited concurrent use and unlimited chapter downloads and printing.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
A broad array of basic social sciences journals, including interdisciplinary fields. Covers a wide array of areas, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies, and much more.
SocINDEX with FullText This link opens in a new window
A resource for core journals in sociology and related disciplines including criminology, ethnic studies and more. In addition to full-text journals, it contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
Web of Science (and ESI & JCR) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines. Included in the subscription: Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators (ESI). Use the ESI Help Guide and JCR Help Guide to learn more.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of e-journals and ebooks covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Download the user guide

Other Useful Databases

America: History and Life with Fulltext This link opens in a new window
Reference tool for U.S. and Canadian history and culture. With full-text coverage of hundreds of journals and books, and selective indexing for journals from 1863 to present.
American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window
Features scholarship and reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and images of the indigenous peoples of the United States.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
Offers a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century. This resource was previously known as “American Indian Histories and Cultures.”
Anthropology This link opens in a new window
Collection of 1092+ videos representing cultures from around the world. This collection is useful for anthropology, sociology, ethnic studies and women’s studies classes.
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology This link opens in a new window
8 volume encyclopedia provides both expert short definitions and explanations of concepts, as well as introductions to sociological theories and research, and longer articles on major topics.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Ethnic Studies Library at UC Berkeley, this bibliographic index covers a wide range of materials focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience with selective indexing dating back to early 1900s. Coverage of the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants begins with 1992 onwards. Covers Chicano/a art, education, folklore, health. history, labor, language & literature, music, politics, public policy, religion, sociology and women's studies.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
This collection includes newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press, and offers diverse viewpoints and perspectives.

Handbook of North American Indians Volume 1 has been officially published online on the Smithsonian Institution Scholarly Press (SISP) webpage. The volume PDF file is available for full download at https://scholarlypress.si.edu/store/new-releases/handbook-north-american-indians-volume-1-introduct/. According to the message from the SISP Director, the volume file is now available free to all interested readers via the link https://doi.org/10.5479/si.21262173

Anthropology

Find a Known Article

Religion & Spirituality Databases

Most Useful Databases

Other Useful Databases