SJSU Research Guides: Justice Studies: National/Local Newspapers

General Newspapers

Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Alternative and independent media coverage. Independent voices and regional, rural, and metropolitan perspectives on local, national, and international issues from some of the most respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals in the U.S. Approximately 260+ publications.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
270+ newspapers covering life in the Antebellum South -- abolitionism; the growth of the Black church; the Emancipation Proclamation; the Jim Crow Era; the rise of the N.A.A.C.P.; the Harlem Renaissance; the Civil Rights movement; political and economic empowerment and more.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Offers exact reproductions of 700+ historical American newspapers from the period 1690-1900.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. This collection provides research opportunities into subjects including the self-determination era and American Indian Movement (AIM), education, environmentalism, land rights and cultural representation from an Indigenous perspective. The 45 unique titles also include bi-lingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages. This resource was previously known as “American Indian Newspapers.”
New York Times Online This link opens in a new window
Access and personalize the New York Times website with your SJSU email address. Here are instructions to create your NYTimes account. Once you have created your account, use it to sign into the NY Times website from anywhere. Includes interactives, video, and audio, plus digital images of the newspaper back to 1851.
New York Times via ProQuest (1980 - present ) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, full image, cover-to-cover access to the New York Times.
New York Times via ProQuest Historical (1851- present) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, full image, cover-to-cover access to the New York Times.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, full image, cover-to-cover access to the New York Times.

Local Newspapers

San Francisco Chronicle Index (1980-)
Indexes the San Francisco Chronicle from 1980 to present.
AI21.S25 S26 - REFERENCE 2ND FLOOR
San Francisco Chronicle Index 1950-1980
Provides an index to the San Francisco Chronicle from 1950 - August 22, 1980. A good resource for local news.
AI21.S25 S25X INDEX (MICROFICHE) - REFERENCE 2ND FLOOR
San Jose Mercury News
From 1985 to the present time, the News Library of the Mercury Center can be consulted to determine when a topic appeared in the San Jose Mercury News.
San Jose Mercury News Clippings File
Contains selected newspaper stories from 1920 to 1985, arranged by subject, personal name and corporate name.

SF Gate This link opens in a new window
San Francisco Chronicle and San Francisco Examiner newspaper articles. Limited to staff-written material only--wire service and freelance articles are generally not included, nor are classified ads. Photo archive can be searched separately and some articles include pictures.

The California Newspaper Project Database
The single most comprehensive source about California's newspapers.
The San Francisco Newspapers Index
Indexes state and local news 1904-1949.
AI21.S25 S24X - INDEXES - MICROFICHE