SJSU Research Guides: Justice Studies: JS/FS Articles & Databases

Most Useful

These resources have been personally selected by your librarian.

Not sure which database to use for your specific project? Contact me for customized advice or Ask a Librarian
Need help accessing these resources? Get technical assistance from Student Computing Services

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full text, peer reviewed academic journals that support scholarly research in key areas of academic study.
academic search premier

Crime in the United States
Nationwide overview of crime based on statistics contributed by state and local law enforcement agencies. Covers violent crime, property crime, motor vehicle theft, arson. Also gives data on offenses cleared, persons arrested, weapons used in violent crime, and statistics about law enforcement personnel.

Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers crime trends, crime prevention & deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Legal research including cases, statutes, court rules and regulations, briefs for all U.S. jurisdictions. Also contains newspapers, magazines, journals, newsletters, government press releases, and transcripts of television and radio shows and congressional testimony. Coverage varies by source.

Also Useful

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Covers 1923 to the present. This weekly publication gives background information on current and controversial issues. Unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers key areas of education and related fields of study, as well as educational specialties, administration, funding and more. Additionally, this database includes indexing for nearly 1,025 periodicals dating back to 1983. Education Full Text also features in-depth coverage of special education, with more than 50 journals dedicated to this important topic.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
This collection includes newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press, and offers diverse viewpoints and perspectives.
JSTOR Journals and Books This link opens in a new window
The journals archive consists of older (at least 2-5 years) issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects including the arts, humanities, and social sciences. The eBook collections are DRM-free and allow for unlimited concurrent use and unlimited chapter downloads and printing.
NCJRS Abstracts Database This link opens in a new window
National Criminal Justice Reference Service: Summaries of criminal justice publications, including Federal, State, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research.
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition This link opens in a new window
Content includes full text, abstracts, and indexing for the following Wilson databases: Business Full Text, Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers’ Guide Full Text, and Social Sciences Full Text. It also includes full text content from: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides an excellent first-step in researching any current social issue. Includes pro-con articles, opinion pieces, newspaper pieces, scholarly articles and information from many other types of sources, all full text.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Primary database for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Full text of more than 1.9 million of these titles is available in PDF format. Represents over 1,000 graduate schools and universities in North America and around the world. Dissertations from 1980 & master's theses from 1988 include abstracts written by the author. Help Guide available.
Mercury News This link opens in a new window
This is the major newspaper in Silicon Valley. The link above provides free access to some current articles. Subscription access is available from Newsbank Mercury News Historical and Current (1884 to present). Access is also available from ProQuest Newsstand (2010 to 2016) and ProQuest Newsstream (2016-2019)
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts a broad array of basic social sciences journals, including interdisciplinary fields. Full text coverage begins in January 1995.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Offers access to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides in-depth and non-evaluative abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800 serial publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. The database backfile dates to 1952.
Web of Science (and ESI & JCR) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines. Included in the subscription: Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators (ESI). Use the ESI Help Guide and JCR Help Guide to learn more. Also included is the Grants Index which is found under the Web of Science core collection drop down menu.

New York Times Online (Current)
Members of the SJSU community have free access to the New York Times. Follow this link to find out the details.

World Factbook This link opens in a new window
The Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

Medical / Psychology

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
1300+ full-text journals available to support nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This resource also provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheet and quick lesson disease overviews, and continuing education modules.
cinhal
Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
Vol I & II. This online video collection is ideal for training in social work, psychology, multi-cultural studies, and other areas. The sessions are hosted and edited by leading psychologists, psychiatrists, social workers, and academics in the U.S., Canada, and the U.K.
DSM-5 This link opens in a new window
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders is the standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals in the United States. Subscription also includes DSM-5® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis and DSM-5® Clinical Cases and more
DSM-5 and Psychodiagnostic Interviewing 4 Streaming Video Series This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive course in the DSM-5, its uses and misuses, as well as step-by-step instructions in diagnosis and psychodiagnostic interviewing. Using vignettes of 11 different clients struggling with some of the most common diagnoses, Jason Buckles and Victor Yalom instruct viewers on the delicate balance of obtaining diagnostic information while creating a warm alliance with new clients.
HaPI - Health and Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences and information about behavioral measurement instruments. Over 2/3 of the tools are in medical and nursing areas such pain measurement, quality of life assessment, and drug efficacy evaluation.Limited to 1 simultaneous user
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
This database provides users with a comprehensive guide to 3,000+ contemporary testing instruments. Critical reviews and descriptive information for English-language commercially available standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas (as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbook). Limited to 4 simultaneous users
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
This resource, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database covers general psychology as well as specialized, applied, clinical and theoretical research.
PsycEXTRA This link opens in a new window
PsycEXTRA, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), is a bibliographic and full-text companion to the scholarly PsycINFO database. Document types include technical, annual and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures and more. Extensive coverage of gray literature relating to psychology and the behavioral sciences.
psy psych psycho psychinfo psych info psyc
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA) contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines, dating from the 1800s. PsycINFO is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
psy psych psycho psychinfo psych info psyc
Psychotherapy Net Social Work Collection This link opens in a new window
A streaming video library of 41 titles offering training featuring leading practitioners of the field. The majority of the videos show therapists actually conducting therapy and demonstrating clinical skills, along with pre- and post-session discussion. Transcripts of all videos are included and the ability to make clips is available. Most videos come with a downloadable instruction manual.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Searches MEDLINE, the leading database of journal articles in the health sciences, including medicine, nursing, the allied health sciences, public health, and the basic sciences. Coverage is 1946 - present.