This page provides research assistance for artwork in the San Jose Museum of Art. There are many publications that contain biographical or critical information about the museum's collections. The resources on this page link to books, newspapers, articles, and archival resources. SJSU students can access university databases with their university ID and library pin. Others can use our online online and print resources by visiting the library in person. San Jose Public Library databases can also be accessed remotely with your SJPL library card number and pin.
In addition, there are resources in the SJPL's California Room useful for researching California art and architecture.
The digital collection of the SJMA is online at: https://sjmusart.org/embark/index-tree/tree/-1?sort=0
The Modern Moves West by
Exploring the transformation of California into a center for contemporary art through the twentieth century, this book dramatically illustrates the paths California artists took toward a more diverse and inclusive culture.
The Not-So-Still Life - A Century of California Painting and Sculpture by 
Facing Eden: 100 years of landscape art in the Bay Area by 
Artists in California, 1786-1940 by A public gateway to a world of primary sources, including those for teachers and lesson plans. More than 150,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California. There is a section titled: Especially for Teachers which gives information and links about teaching and learning with primary sources, including sample lesson plans, primary source analysis sheets, etc.
The San Jose Mercury News is accessible online back to 1985 using the San Jose Public Library subscription, so you will need to use your SJPL card number and PIN. Before 1985, the Mercury News is available in microfilm.
The California Digital Newspaper Collection is free to search and covers several different California papers. See the title list for coverage.