Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art and Art History

Library databases and other research resources

Librarian

Profile Photo
Kate Steffens
she/her/hers
Contact:
Special Collections & Archives
Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Library
San José State University
One Washington Square
San José, CA 95192-0028
408 808-2131

Course Reserves

Where Are the Books?

The SJSU Library uses the Library of Congress classification system to assign call numbers to books so that you can find them on the shelves.

Browsing for ceramics/pottery books can be a challenge! They may be in several different places in the Library. Most ceramics books will be found under NK. Many books on glazes will be under TP because they are about chemical processes. Technical aspects of pottery making may be found under TT. If you are looking for books about Native American pottery, such as Zuni or Moche pottery, you may find them under call numbers E or F (History of the Americas).

N Visual arts
NA Architecture
NB Sculpture
NC Drawing. Design. Illustration
ND Painting
NE Print media
NK Decorative arts (most Ceramics books are here)
NX Arts in general
TP Chemical technology (includes some Ceramics/Pottery, esp. glazes)
TR Photography
TT Handicrafts. Arts and crafts (Pottery)

Example: NK3780 .C663 2000 is the call number for the book:

Reference Databases

Start with a reference database for an introduction to your topic.

   

Art and Art History Databases

Newspaper Databases

Newspaper articles can be useful for locating reviews of exhibitions, artist interviews, and biographical information on artists. 

Streaming Video

Books

Use OneSearch to search for books and articles.

OneSearch Catalog

Enter Your Search Term: