SJSU Research Guides: Audiology: Finding Journal Articles

Finding journal articles

Looking for journal articles on a topic?

Start with one of these library databases.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
1300+ full-text journals available to support nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This resource also provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheet and quick lesson disease overviews, and continuing education modules.
cinhal
ComDisDome This link opens in a new window
ComDisDome is an indexing and abstracting tool covering the communications disorders literature, with focus on speech-language pathology and audiology.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Searches MEDLINE, the leading database of journal articles in the health sciences, including medicine, nursing, the allied health sciences, public health, and the basic sciences. Coverage is 1946 - present.

You can also try any of the following:

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, the Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. Download the user guide.

Note: Steps to create a personal account when off campus:
1. Go directly to the Cochrane library website [bypassing your Tower ID authentication].
2. Use the "Sign in" link in the top right corner to either login to an existing account or create a new account.
a. New Accounts: Complete the registration process and SJSU email validation. Then login to your account
b. Existing customers: Log in using your Cochrane Library personal login and password.
3. When you successfully login, this information will appear in the top right corner as Signed in as "your name"
4. Once you complete this login, then return to The Cochrane Library using the link that requires your Tower ID authentication.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Communication Source was developed from a merger of high-quality EBSCO databases, Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts (formerly published by Sage), and includes many unique sources not previously available in other databases. Offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
This abstract and citation database covers thousands of scholarly journals, books, and conference proceedings. Covering a broad range of disciplines, Scopus enables one to track, analyze, and visualize research. Output data at the institutional and author levels are available. Authors will find h-index, Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP), and citation counts helpful in demonstrating the impact of their work.
Trip Medical Database (free version) This link opens in a new window
A clinical search engine linking to evidence-based content, such as clinical practice guidelines, systematic reviews, and primary studies. Each abstract indicates the record's place on the evidence pyramid. Use the PICO search feature to show a limited number of highly-focused results.

Do you need more help searching our databases? Try one of these tutorials first. If you still need help, contact your librarian!

Using the CINAHL/MeSH Headings Feature in EBSCOhost (3:32)
Searching the Cochrane Library (2:50)
Customizing Google Scholar
(4 mins)
more...less...
Learn how to link Google Scholar with SJSU GetText and RefWorks. This will tell you whether an article found on Google Scholar is available through the library's databases.
Lecture Series: Using PubMed to Find High-Quality Literature