Counseling in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology by
"Counseling in the field of communication disorders is an essential dimension of professional practice, but just what it entails is often a bit of a mystery. Counseling in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology: Reconstructing Personal Narratives, Second Edition addresses this common concern of students and practitioners by illustrating how to integrate the concept of counseling into clinical practice. Replete with a variety of case studies, clinical guidelines, and actual transcripts of counseling interventions with clients and their families, as well as a practical "toolbox" of specific counseling techniques, this graduate-level textbook offers a comprehensive, novel, and empirically informed approach to counseling, applicable to a broad range of speech, language, swallowing, and hearing disorders"--
Development of the Auditory System by
The contributors to this volume have provided a detailed and integrated introduction to the behavioural, anatomical, and physiological changes that occur in the auditory system of developing animals. Edwin W Rubel is Virginia Merrill Bloedel Professor of Hearing Sciences at the Virginia Merrill Bloedel Hearing Research Center at the University of Washington, Arthur N. Popper is Professor and Chair of the Department of Zoology at the University of Maryland, while Richard R. Fay is Associate Director of the Parmly Hearing Institute and Professor of Psychology at Loyola University of Chicago. Each volume in this series is independent and authoritative; taken as a set, the series will be the definitive resource in the field.
Ear Surgery Illustrated by
This richly illustrated ear microsurgery atlas shows a picture is worth a thousand words! In order to envision a three-dimensional picture of the surgical space and ultimately to master surgery, surgeons need thorough visual and clinical knowledge of anatomy. Ear Surgery Illustrated: A Comprehensive Atlas of Otologic Microsurgical Techniques by renowned surgeon Robert Jackler and illustrator Christine Gralapp reflects more than three decades of collaboration. The color illustrations herein communicate a wealth of surgical anatomy and technique with exceptional clarity and precision. Succinct, insightful text paired with the drawings delineate key landmarks, define crucial relationships, and elucidate complex concepts. Fifteen chapters encompass the broad spectrum of modern otological surgery practice -- from commonplace procedures to complex tertiary-quaternary operative care. The appendix features helpful educational handouts surgeons can give to patients. Key Features More than 1,100 precise full-color illustrations with explanatory text cover a broad range of microsurgical approaches A wide range of surgical procedures including stapes surgery, tympanoplasty, ossiculoplasty, mastoidectomy, vestibular surgery, cochlear implants, temporal bone resection, and petrous apicectomy Management of various diseases and conditions such as cholesteatoma, facial nerve issues, temporal bone fractures, hearing loss, encephaloceles, cerebrospinal fluid leaks, and pulsatile tinnitus Stepwise procedural guidance throughout the atlas enables novice otolaryngologists and subspecialty otologists to achieve optimal surgical outcomes. Experienced surgeons will find insightful tips and helpful tricks to refine skills and tackle more complex technical challenges encountered in practice. Paired with Robert Jackler's and Christine Gralapp's Atlas of Skull Bas
Managing Your Mental Health During Your PhD by
This book explores the PhD experience as never before and provides a "survival guide" for current and prospective PhD students. The book investigates why mental health issues are so common among the postgraduate population, going beyond the statistics, looking at lived experience of both the author and as well as current PhD students, who have found balancing mental wellness with the PhD endeavour challenging. The author discusses tips and tricks she wished she had known at the start of her PhD process for managing mental health, such as managing imposter feelings, prioritising workload, and self-care strategies to help others throughout their own journey. The book goes beyond typical mental health discussions (where the focus for improving mental health is placed on PhD students to become "more resilient") and explores some of the often unspoken environmental factors that can impact mental health. These include the PhD student-supervisor relationship, the pressure to publish, and deep systemic problems in academia, such as racism, bullying and harassment. Finally, the book is a call to action, providing tangible improvements from the author's perspective that university institutions can make to ensure that academia is a place for all to thrive.
1) Log in on our library website with your SJSU ID number and SJSUOne password to access our databases from anywhere off-campus. Are you having trouble accessing your library account? Contact:
Jeff Frank
Senior Customer Services Coordinator for Access
Email: jeff.frank@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 808-2326
2) Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request access to something we don't have in our library, like a book or journal article. You will need to set up an account the first time you use ILL. Note: Be sure to set your status correctly. SJSU Distance indicates students members who are exclusively engaged in online classes. DNP students and faculty should select:
3) Our Online Students' Guide has more tips and tricks for our SJSU distance faculty and students.
Most online journal articles require subscriptions to get access. If SJSU Library subscribes to the journal in question, this tool will help you access the article off-site without first looking it up on the library website.
Drag this button up to your bookmarks toolbar in your browser (or right-click to save it to your favorites toolbar).
Now, when you're on a website that you'd like to redirect through the Library's proxy server, clicking this button will automatically reload the page.
If the full-text still won't open, we might not subscribe to this item. Look it up on OneSearch or submit an Interlibrary Loans request to get access.
Looking for journal articles on a topic?
Start with one of these library databases.
You can also try any of the following:
Do you need more help searching our databases? Try one of these tutorials first. If you still need help, contact your librarian!
The SJSU Library has several resources that can be used to identify assessments and other instruments to support research and patient-care.
Caution: you may need to contact the author or publisher of a tool to 1) have access to the complete instrument and 2) get permission to reuse it.
Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health
Psychiatric clinicians should use rating scales and questionnaires often, for they not only facilitate targeted diagnoses and treatment; they also facilitate links to empirical literature and systematize the entire process of management. Clinically oriented and highly practical, the Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health is an ideal tool for the busy psychiatrist, clinical psychologist, family physician, or social worker. In this ground-breaking text, leading researchers provide reviews of the most commonly used outcome and screening measures for the major psychiatric diagnoses and treatment scenarios. The full range of psychiatric disorders are covered in brief but thorough chapters, each of which provides a concise review of measurement issues related to the relevant condition, along with recommendations on which dimensions to measure and when. The Handbook also includes ready-to-photocopy versions of the most popular, valid, and reliable scales and checklists, along with scoring keys and links to websites containing on-line versions. Moreover, the Handbook describes well known, structured, diagnostic interviews and the specialized training requirements for each. It also includes details of popular psychological tests (such as neuropsychological, personality, and projective tests), along with practical guidelines on when to request psychological testing, how to discuss the case with the assessment consultant and how to integrate information from the final testing report into treatment. Focused and immensely useful, the Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health is an invaluable resource for all clinicians who care for patients with psychiatric disorders."
The American Hospital Association defines cultural competency as "the ability of systems to provide care to patients with diverse values, beliefs and behaviors, including the tailoring of health care delivery to meet patients' social, cultural and linguistic needs." A person's cultural identity could be linked to their religion, their nationality, their sexuality or gender expression, etc. Check out these recommended resources to help you deliver culturally appropriate care.
The nursing field tends to use the APA citation style, also known as the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
Other citation styles commonly used in the health sciences, include:
Use a citation manager to make your citations easier.
