SJSU Research Guides: Information Science and Data Analytics : Articles and Databases

Linkedin Learning

Linkedin Learning in an online learning platform with videos and full courses in areas of business, creative tools & skills, and technology. Includes courses in software applications such as Excel, PowerPoint, and Adobe. Also includes courses in big data applications like Spark, Tensorflow, Hadoop, and AWS as well as programing languages and open-source operating systems like LaTeX and Linux. You can access LinkedIn Learning through the SJSUOne portal.

Databases by subject

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Digital Library Core (DLC) of periodicals covers every aspect of computing. Peer reviewed (refereed) publications concentrate on theoretical and experimental papers. Magazines focus on practical applications in research, design and specification.
ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) Digital Collection includes the full-text of all ASME journals from 1990 to present. ASME’s conference proceedings and e-books are searchable, but are not available full-text.
ASTM Standards & Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The library includes journals, 12,900 standards, technical publications, manual, proceedings and bulletins that cover these engineering disciplines: aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science and solar engineering.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Offers access to engineering research literature and patent databases including Compendex and Inspec. Also includes GeoRef and GEOBASE databases.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Covers electrical, electronic and computer engineering information in IEEE and IEE journals, magazines & conference proceedings. Watch Tutorials WARNING: systematic downloads of the IEEE database or portions of the database are against the license agreement and will result in loss of access. Additionally, you may receive the following message: "You are viewing this page because you have reached a vendor mandated download limit."
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and ebooks in science, technology and medicine (STM), arts, humanities and social sciences. Click on "Journals and Books" link on the website to filter by subscribed, open access and complimentary access to know what is available to you. Note: You may see a screen from Elsevier asking: “Are you a Human”. It's okay to click on the box. It's a verification process to prevent automated traffic (BOTS) from abusing excessive downloads of PDFs.
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles covering the Sciences, Humanities and Social Sciences. Library subscription also includes access to many ebooks and conference proceedings.
SpringerOpen This link opens in a new window
SpringerOpen hosts peer reviewed OA journals covering disciplines within the science, technology, and medicine (STM) fields.

Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection provides reports analyzing economic and political developments worldwide, and evaluates issues within a coherent political, social, and economic framework. Includes Hoovers profiles, Oxresearch and more.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This database contains monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, detailed author profiles and more. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included.
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
CountryWatch provides critical country-specific intelligence and data that covers demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental subject matter. Click on My Subscription in top right corner of page to to discover what's included and available.
Hoovers Company Profiles This link opens in a new window
In-depth company profiles including operations, officers, strategies, competitors, histories, locations, products & brand names, and financial information Also known as Business Market Research Collection.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
U.S. company data covering approximately 10,000 public companies and their SEC filings. Includes: U.S. Annual Reports: Easy-to-access current and historical annual reports; International company data. Online version of: Mergent industrial manual, Mergent international manual, Mergent bank & finance manual, Mergent OTC industrial manual, Mergent OTC unlisted manual, and Mergent public utility & transportation manual.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 1 million statistics for these topics: industries; consumer goods; internet; media & advertising; retail & trade; sports & recreation; technology & telecommunications; transportation & logistics; and travel, tourism & hospitality. Also available are government statistics, such as unemployment rates, births, and deaths. For business research, outlook reports, market research reports, country reports, dossiers, surveys, and industry reports are available.

Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Legal research including cases, statutes, court rules and regulations, briefs for all U.S. jurisdictions. Also contains newspapers, magazines, journals, newsletters, government press releases, and transcripts of television and radio shows and congressional testimony. Coverage varies by source.
HeinOnline Government, Politics, and Law Collection This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline’s Government, Politics & Law contains more than 80 million pages of content across 80,000 titles and 195,000 volumes. HeinOnline bridges the gap in history by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,200 periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of journals, the database also contains the Congressional Record bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, constitutions for every country in the world, classic books from the 18th & 19th centuries, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register and CFR from inception, and much more.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Includes 850+ journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 300 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for over 480 journals, indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,100 titles, full text for 330 reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers. PSC has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse.

Library & Information Science Source This link opens in a new window
This database is a combination of LISTA and Library Literature & Information Science Fulltext along with an additional 75 titles.
Library and Information Science Collection This link opens in a new window
A selection of journals from Taylor and Francis covering the following areas: Archiving, Cataloging, Collection Development, Electronic Librarianship, Library Administration, Resource Sharing and more.
Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Researchers can trace the innovations, controversies and people instrumental in the making of modern librarianship from 1905 - 1983. Covers over 1,200 publications and 500,000+ articles.