Databases - NUFS 115 - Issues in Food Toxicology - SJSU Research Guides at San José State University Library

Background Resources

Use the following resources to gain some background information and commentary on your topic.

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Offers an online collection of reference materials including encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Full text of the 32-volume Encyclopædia Britannica (additional articles and images not available in the print set); Merriam Webster's Dictionary; over 130,000 links to web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors. Other resources include country comparisons and data analysis; history timeline; brief biographies; as well as articles from the New York Times and the BBC.

Selected List of Databases for Peer-Reviewed, Primary Articles

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and ebooks in science, technology and medicine (STM), arts, humanities and social sciences. Click on "Journals and Books" link on the website to filter by subscribed, open access and complimentary access to know what is available to you. Note: You may see a screen from Elsevier asking: “Are you a Human”. It's okay to click on the box. It's a verification process to prevent automated traffic (BOTS) from abusing excessive downloads of PDFs.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full text, peer reviewed academic journals that support scholarly research in key areas of academic study.
academic search premier
Food Science Source This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text coverage for 1,300+ publications, all dealing with food industry-related issues, such as packaging, processing, product development, safety, etc. More than 1,000 key food industry and market reports are also included.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Searches MEDLINE, the leading database of journal articles in the health sciences, including medicine, nursing, the allied health sciences, public health, and the basic sciences. Coverage is 1946 - present.
Web of Science (and ESI & JCR) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines. Included in the subscription: Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators (ESI). Use the ESI Help Guide and JCR Help Guide to learn more. Also included is the Grants Index which is found under the Web of Science core collection drop down menu.

Off Campus Access

To access SJSU databases from off campus, input your SJSU Tower ID and your SJSUone password.