Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

DSID 128: Sustainability

DSID 128 Sustainable House

Reference Sources

Reference Sources will help you quickly learn the language of the professional field.  Here are some recommended sources you can access online:

Green Business:  An A-Z Guide. Sage:  Thousand Oaks, 2010

 

Green Energy:  An A-Z Guide.  Sage:  Thousand Oaks, 2010. 

 

Researching this topic

You will need to use books, articles, and open access web sites to research this topic.  See the related boxes on this page for detailed information about these resources:

Books:  The Library Catalog will help you find books. Use OneSearch from the library homepage.

Databases:  There are several different article databases that will help you find relevant journal articles

Open Access:  Web sites for organizations and associations often provide valuable content.

As you search, remember to take the time to record your process and where you found information.  Please contact me at gareth.scott@sjsu.edu if you need advice on searching for or locating information on your topic.

Featured Articles

You can browse articles online in the library database to gather ideas.  Here are some selected articles from recent publications. 

Government Documents

There are many useful documents from U.S. Government Agencies:

 

Energy efficiency trends in residential and commercial buildings [electronic resource] U.S. Department of Energy, Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, [2008].

Check out figure 18 on page 15 for a break down of energy uses in homes!

 

Special Collections Librarian

Profile Photo
Kate Steffens
she/her/hers
Contact:
Special Collections & Archives
Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Library
San José State University
One Washington Square
San José, CA 95192-0028
408 808-2131

Sustainable Design

Design Journal Databases

Library Catalog

The Library Catalog will connect you to print and electronic books on your topic.  Be aware while searching that the Library Catalog database uses very structured language.  For example, books about solar houses can be found under these headings:

Ecological Houses

Dwellings--Energy Conservation

Books

Open Access Sites

In addition to Government agencies, there are non-profit organizations promoting sustainable design.