SJSU Research Guides: CHEM100W Library Research Help: Finding References &amp; Information About Articles

Recommended Chemistry Databases

ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
Online editions of 36 scientific journals published by the American Chemical Society.
Royal Society of Chemistry Journals Online This link opens in a new window
The Royal Society of Chemistry publishes peer reviewed journals that cover the chemical sciences and related fields. The library subscribes to some of the journals from RSC. Others are available as open access.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Comprehensively search the chemical literature, including journal articles, patents, government publications, conference proceedings, and technical reports. Also provides access to Chemical Abstracts, the CAS Registry, CASREACT, ChemZent, and MEDLINE. Register for an account (SJSU Only). This resource also includes CAS Analytical Methods and CAS Formulas that may be accessed from the menu in SciFinder N or directly once you have an account. Here is the link for SciFinder-n Help Guide.

PubChem
PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. Also includes information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Searches MEDLINE, the leading database of journal articles in the health sciences, including medicine, nursing, the allied health sciences, public health, and the basic sciences. Coverage is 1946 - present.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and ebooks in science, technology and medicine (STM), arts, humanities and social sciences. Click on "Journals and Books" link on the website to filter by subscribed, open access and complimentary access to know what is available to you. The Advanced Search screen also allows you to filter by subscribed, open access and complimentary access, and subject areas to know what is available to you.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
This abstract and citation database covers thousands of scholarly journals, books, and conference proceedings. Covering a broad range of disciplines, Scopus enables one to track, analyze, and visualize research. Output data at the institutional and author levels are available. Authors will find h-index, Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP), and citation counts helpful in demonstrating the impact of their work.
Web of Science (and ESI & JCR) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines. Included in the subscription: Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators (ESI). Use the ESI Help Guide and JCR Help Guide to learn more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature search engine. Set your library preferences: On the Google Scholar homepage, go to Scholar Preferences. At Library Links, locate San Jose State University. Add those links, then save the preferences.

Go to the full Chemistry Research Guide has recommendations for more databases to find sources/articles.