SJSU Research Guides: Chicana &amp; Chicano Studies: Advanced Resources

Dissertations & Theses

As an advance search consider looking at dissertations and theses for literature reviews and their bibliographies. For current research and topics not yet published in a book or articles, these publications can be very resourceful.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is mostly a full text resource. For dissertations/theses not available in full text, you can request it through ILL. You can also refine your search in OneSearch by limiting the "Resource Type" (show more) to limit by Collection to Theses and Dissertations to find Masters theses that focused on the San Jose area.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Primary database for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Includes references for materials from 1861 to those accepted as recently as last semester. Full text of more than 1.9 million of these titles is available in PDF format. Represents over 1,000 graduate schools and universities in North America and around the world. Dissertions from 1980 & master's theses from 1988 include abstracts written by the author. For items not available in PDF, try Interlibrary Services.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. Search many libraries at once for an item and then locate it in a library nearby.

Newspapers

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Offers exact reproductions of 700+ historical American newspapers from the period 1690-1900.
Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
The Los Angeles Times (also known as the LA Times) is a daily newspaper published in Los Angeles, California and distributed throughout the Western United States.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers The San Francisco Chronicle This link opens in a new window
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. (1865-1922). From Jan 1, 1865 to Aug 31, 1868, known as The Daily Dramatic Chronicle; From Sept 1, 1868 to Aug 14, 1869, known as Daily Morning Chronicle; and from Aug 15, 1869, known as San Francisco Chronicle. Help Guide
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, full image, cover-to-cover access to the New York Times.
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
From ProQuest: Users may search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives from the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Content includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. Also included: CBS News 60 MInutes, US Hispanic Newsstream, US Major Dailies, US Midwest Newsstream, US North Central Newsstream, US Northeast Newsstream, US South Newsstream

Borrowing Materials from Other Libraries

CSU Collections/Interlibrary Services

Via OneSearch request from other CSU Libraries. At the search box locate the CSU collection option. You will need to sign in to access. Interlibrary Services lets library users borrow hard-copy items (books, microfilm, etc.) and articles (paper, electronic) from libraries all over the world. (Watch these short videos to find out more about creating an Interlibrary Services account and placing a request.)

Find in a Library With WorldCat Search

Search over 2 million WorldCat records to find libraries anywhere that have your title.

Other Local & California Library Systems

Check out what other local libraries have to offer. Select a library's website to find a phone number to call for assistance or check its Online Catalog yourself.