SJSU Research Guides: Standards: Finding Standards at SJSU

Finding Standards at SJSU

SJSU library provides full-text access to standards published by the following Standards Developing Organizations (SDOs):

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE transactions, standards, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings for computer science, electrical engineering, electronics engineering, and mechanical engineering.
ASTM Standards & Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The library includes journals, 12,900 standards, technical publications, manual, proceedings and bulletins that cover these engineering disciplines: aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science and solar engineering.

SJSU library provides full-text access to a selected collection of industry codes and standards from a few publishers.

Techstreet Enterprise This link opens in a new window
A collection of industry codes and standards from AAMI, ASQ, BS, and ISO.

AAMI - Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation

ASQ - American Society for Quality (ASQ)

BS - British Standard

ISO - International Standard Organization

ANSI Standards Connect This link opens in a new window
An online platform from American National Standards Institute (ANSI) to increase engagement, collaboration, and management of standards. SJSU library has access to one standard document: AGMA 937-A12 (R2022) Aerospace Bevel Gears.

Standards get indexed in discovery platforms. Discovery platforms do not provide full-text access. To check whether we have a full-text access to a specific standard, click on "Find It" button on the results page.

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Offers access to engineering research literature and patent databases including Compendex and Inspec. Also includes GeoRef and GEOBASE databases.
Standards currently indexed in Compendex -- IEEE, SAE (Society of Automobile Engineers), ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers), ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials), AIAA (American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics), TAPPI (Technical Association of the Pulp and Paper Industry), AWS (American Welding Society), ISO, and BSO. Standards are sourced directly from Standards Development Organizations (SDOs). All versions/statuses are indexed – active and inactive.

Annual book of ASTM Standards (Link to the library catalog)

A 70+ volume compilation of full-text standards published by American Society for Testing and Materials (1970-2001).

Standards Available for Free Public Access

NASA Technical Standards

A collection of Standards documents managed by NASA. Many of the NASA technical standards are available to the public for online viewing and downloading.

American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Incorporated by Reference (IBR) Portal

The ANSI IBR Portal offers access to standards incorporated by reference in the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), providing a centralized platform for online reading at no cost. These standards, sourced from organizations like ISO and IEC, are presented in a "read only" format with no print or download options. Additionally, several SDOs, such as AHRI, AISC, API, ASHRAE, AWWA, IAPMO, ICC, IEEE, IKECA, NFPA, NFRC, SJI, UL, etc., are offering free access via their own website.

ASTM International Reading Room

ASTM International provides a service allowing online access to ASTM safety standards incorporated in U.S. regulations. These standards are available for online reading only, with no print or download options. Please note that the versions provided may not be the most recent or up-to-date, as they are the ones referenced in federal regulations or laws. As a non-governmental organization, ASTM does not regulate which standards are referenced in these regulations or laws.

Requesting Standards Not Owned By the SJSU Library

While the standards collection at the SJSU Library is moderate in size, the library does not have access to all standards. If the standard you require is not available in our collection, below are some alternatives you can explore:

Check other sources

Check Google. A very few technical standards are available free on the web (see Standards Available for Free Public Access), but the one you need could be one of them.
Try Interlibrary Loan (ILL). We can sometimes borrow standards from other libraries that own them. This option is not ideal for those with looming deadlines, as it can take several weeks to find a lending library, if one is found at all.

Request a purchase

A purchase on-demand is available to SJSU faculty, students, and staff. You can request the library to purchase standards necessary for your research or teaching. Please reach out to your liaison librarian to make your standards purchase request.