SJSU Research Guides: International Students' Library Research Guide: Find articles

Some commonly used databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full text, peer reviewed academic journals that support scholarly research in key areas of academic study.
academic search premier
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Covers 1923 to the present. This weekly publication gives background information on current and controversial issues. Unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides an excellent first-step in researching any current social issue. Includes pro-con articles, opinion pieces, newspaper pieces, scholarly articles and information from many other types of sources, all full text.

This is an self-paced online language learning tool for 72 world languages plus English (ESL) instruction in 21 languages.

You need to log in with your San Jose Public Library 14-digit barcode number with a PIN. Stop by the service desk on the first floor to obtain your SJPL card; make sure to bring a photo ID with you. During Santa Clara County's shelter-in-place order, San Jose residents are able to apply for an eCard to access all SJPL online resources. Apply for your card here.

Open Access Journals

In addition to looking for journal articles in SJSU databases, you can also find journal articles through the open source.

The Directory of Open Access Journals includes over 2600 free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. The scope includes all subjects and languages.

Google Scholar

When all else fails ...