BUS 297D: Special Topics

Online. Global business management issues and concerns are complex, diverse, changing, and often intractable. Industry actors and policy makers alike rely upon partnerships and alliances for developing and growing sustainable business organizations and ventures. As a result, global business leaders must be well-versed in managing and leading multidimensional human relationships and business networks - requiring skill and expertise in conducting the negotiation processes that these entail.  After laying out a foundation justifying the importance of studying negotiation in a global context, this book will detail conventional and contemporary theories regarding international engagement, culture, cultural difference, and cross-cultural interaction, with particular focus on their influence on negotiation. Building on these elements, the book will provide a broad array of country-specific chapters, each describing and analyzing the negotiation culture of businesspeople in a different country around the world. Finally, the book will look ahead, with an eye towards identifying and anticipating new trends and developments in the field of global negotiation. This text will appeal to scholars and researchers in international business, cross-cultural studies, and conflict management who seek to understand the challenges of intercultural communication and negotiation. It will provide trainers and consultants with the insights they need to prepare their clients for intercultural negotiation. Finally, the text will appeal to businesspeople who find themselves heading out to engage with counterparts in another country, or operating in other multinational environments on a regular basis. 

Online. In Transcultural Communication, Andreas Hepp provides an accessible and engaging introduction to the exciting possibilities and inevitable challenges presented by the proliferation of transcultural communication in our mediatized world. Includes examples of mediatization and transcultural communication from a variety of cultural contexts Covers an array of different types of media, including mass media and digital media Incorporates discussion of transcultural communication in media regulation, media production, media products and platforms, and media appropriation

The Second Edition of this classic work, first published in 1981 and an international best seller, explores the differences in thinking and social action that exist among members of more than 50 modern nations. Geert Hofstede argues that people carry "mental programs" which are developed in the family in early childhood and reinforced in schools and organizations, and that these programs contain components of national culture. They are expressed most clearly in the different values that predominate among people from different countries.Geert Hofstede has completely rewritten, revised and updated Culture's Consequences for the twenty-first century, he has broadened the book's cross-disciplinary appeal, expanded the coverage of countries examined from 40 to more than 50, reformulated his arguments and a large amount of new literature has been included. The book is structured around five major dimensions: power distance; uncertainty avoidance; individualism versus collectivism; masculinity versus femininity; and long term versus short-term orientation.

An insightful book on the cultural similarities and differences that exist among consumers in the global market place makes for fascinating reading ... Numerous examples abound throughout the text′ - Choice The Second Edition of this bestselling textbook explores cultural differences and similarities and shows how to apply this knowledge to the management of global branding and marketing communications. New to this edition: - Topics including culture and the media, the internet and global public relations - Consumer behavior is more extensively covered - Consideration of culture′s consequences for various strategic issues, such as the company′s mission statement, brand positioning strategy, and marketing communications - Twice as many illustrations -both recent and classic advertising examples have been added.

Endorsed by Geert Hofstede, the most-quoted author in the cross-cultural field, this is the only book that explains the relationship between national culture and national differences in crucially important phenomena, such as speed of economic growth, murder rates, and educational achievement. It explains differences in suicide rates, road death tolls, female inequality, happiness, and a number of other phenomena in an unprecedented way. It provides comprehensive coverage of these important cross-cultural differences while showing how they covary across the world and presents strong empirical/statistical evidence for the explanations. Chapters focus on culture and cross-cultural studies, economic dynamism, universalism versus exclusionism, risk-taking reproductive competition, monumentalism versus flexumility (flexibility + humility), and the world's cultural clusters. Each chapter contains a subchapter in which implications for international management and organizational behavior are discussed, making the book attractive not only to readers with a special interest in the social sciences, but also to management consultants, management educators and business executives.

An interesting resource for learning about the cultural differences and characteristics of people across the globe, this encyclopedia covers the "do's" and "don'ts" of a breadth of countries and major ethnic groups. Readers of this one-volume reference will gain useful knowledge of what travelers should and shouldn't do when in countries outside of the United States. After a general introduction, approximately 100 alphabetically arranged entries cover topics such as greeting and meeting, appearance and dress, table manners, body language, social situations and hospitality, verbal communications, business etiquette, religious etiquette, gift-giving, and even "netiquette" regarding social media. Sidebars and images throughout make the text more accessible and engaging, and additional readings at the end of each entry as well as the bibliography offer opportunities for further research on the subject. The content also directly supports the National Geography Standards and the AP Human Geography curriculum for high school students as they learn about the cultural differences and characteristics of people in major ethnic groups across the globe. Provides comprehensive coverage of many of the world's countries and cultures that enables readers to make insightful cross-cultural comparisons Directly supports the National Geography Standards by examining cultural mosaics Provides relevant and useful information for readers preparing for study-abroad excursions or other international travel