Book impact can include reviews of a book, both scholarly and popular, publisher influence, sales figures (when available), and numbers of libraries that provide access to the title (in print and/or electronic format). In some cases, the number of libraries providing access is not enough evaluative information but, instead, which specific libraries provide access to the title as well.
Tools for Determining Book Impact
NOTE: Some database require a subscription; SJSU has subscriptions to the following databases.
Where your book has been reviewed
ARBA Online: Features 9500+ reviews of reference works by librarians.
Book Review Digest Plus: With coverage back to 1983, Book Review Digest Plus indexes reviews of current fiction and non-fiction, and provides review excerpts and over 100,000 full text reviews. Includes children’s books as well as books for adults and young adults.
Choice Reviews Online: Includes timely, selective, scholarly reviews by experts in various fields within the Arts & Humanities, Social & Behavioral Sciences, and Science & Technology.
Number of libraries that have your book
WorldCat: A union catalog, WorldCat is the combined catalog of thousands of libraries worldwide. The number of libraries that own or provide online access to a book is an indication of the impact and importance of the work. WorldCAT provides the truest indication of the total number of libraries that own a book.
To search WorldCat:
In the "Advanced Search" tab, search by title or ISSN, and limit to "Books."
Identify the correct work from the search result.
Note the number associated with the "Libraries Worldwide" link. Select "Libraries Worldwide" link, followed by "Display All Libraries" to receive complete library holdings. The "Libraries Worldwide" link only displays local libraries.
Email, print, or export results.
Note: Keep in mind you may see multiple record listings of the same book in the search result. This may be due to format differences (e.g. print, ebook) and/or differences in cataloging practices. Be sure to recognize and count those when necessary.
Tools for determining the right publisher for your book or book chapter: