Over 55,000 lives are detailed, and over 10,000 portraits are included, with online updates taking place three times each year. Search by name or area of interest.
Great place to start looking for a subject or getting initial information on possible topics. The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is a full-text database that contains the complete text of the thirty-three printed volumes as well as all its supplements. Over 55,000 lives are detailed, and over 10,000 portraits are included, with online updates taking place three times each year. The database may be searched by entry name, through a full text search, by date, field of interest, place or several other methods . Special themes may also be traced through the DNB, such as lists of office holders or members of particular groups. Feature essays appear throughout the text, and the publication and revision dates for all entries are included to assure their timeliness.
Marquis Who's Who on the Web provides up-to-the-minute biographies of approximately 1.4 million leaders and achievers from around the world, past and present, in all fields of endeavor including business, law, science, medicine, the arts, government, entertainment and more.
Comprehensive biographies include birth/date info, education, career, creative works, awards, etc.
Online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. Contains an overview of the region, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes; and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instrument, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies.
Check out Cultural Groups on the left side navigation to find groups like Arab-American, etc.
Encyclopedia entries covering all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music. Covers trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Detailed biographies and discographies provided for artists.
Includes streaming audio databases American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, and the Jazz Music Library; the full-text reference databases Classical Music Reference Library and the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music; and the streaming video databases Dance in Video and Opera in Video.